Rugby League


2 Oct 2022

National Conference League Award Winners Announced

National Conference League Award Winners Announced
West Hull second row forward Benn Arbon is the National Conference League Player of the Year 2022 and his Head Coach Mark Hewitt, picks up the Coach of the Year for a record third time. 
League Leader Trophy winners, West Hull have been dominant in the NCL this season losing only two of their 22 games, with Arbon being an ever present and notching 16 tries as well as picking up five Man of the Match accolades against the toughest of opponents. Benn just gets the nod against two times previous winner Craig McShane of Hunslet Club Parkside, and the hugely impressive Ellison Holgate of Wath Brow. 
Hewitt has once again steered his side to the top of the table where they finished eight points clear of second placed Parkside, who will be their Grand Final opponents at Featherstone Rovers’ ground this coming Saturday, kick off3.00pm – a match that will be shown live on the Rugby League’s OurLeague App.  
In Division One Influential Kells halfback Jordan Burns has won the Player of the Year Award after a season that saw him score 18 tries and pick up six man-of-the-match awards as he helped guide his side to a Premier Division return. He just edged out Stanningley hooker Dan Barcoe and West Bowling points machine Harry Williams 
Scott Rhodes collects the Coach of the Year award following a wonderful campaign with Heworth that saw them storm to the Division Two title with nineteen wins and a draw from 22 games, amassing 745 points in the process and conceding just 276. 
Waterhead’s Ciaran Dean collects the Division Three Player of the Year Award following an excellent season In the Warriors promotion charge. Centre Dean was a model of consistency with 14 tries and 48 goals as well as 5 Man of the Match Awards. He just edged Nathan Conroy of East Leeds and Dan Johnson who has enjoyed a magnificent season at Eastmoor Dragons. 

Other winners were Pete Townsend of Saddleworth Rangers who collects the Alfreida Kindon Secretary of the Year Award, for an outstanding administrative season, and Seaton Rangers who capped off a superb first season in the NCL with the Fair Play Award, having received just two yellow cards all year.