5th November 2019, 10:10 | ncl

NCL Awards Night | round-up

NCL Awards Night | round-up

The prestigious Kingstone Press National Conference League Awards Dinner took place on Saturday at The Cedar Court Hotel, Huddersfield with RFL Vice President Carl Hall in attendance as guest of Honour, guest speaker was the legendary Adrian Morley and MC Pete Emmett along with nearly 300 guests.

Though Hunslet Club Parkside were not as successful on the field this season, the Premier Division Player of the Year was the Leeds outfit's Craig McShane with 11 Player of the Match performances.

Mark Hewitt from Premier Grand Finalists Winners West Hull took the Coach Of The Year Award for this Division for the second time.

In Division 1 Jamie Smith from champions Pilkington Recs with 18 tries and 12 man of the match awards was the Player of the Season, and their coach John Rees received the accolade as Coach Of The Year.

Chris Lyth from Hull Dockers was the Player of the Year in Division 2 which also produced the league's top try scorer from Wigan St Judes who crossed the whitewash 26 times in 22 games and Harry Williams from West Bowling was the league's top point scorer with a massive 294 points.

Ryan Hunkin, also from Champions West Bowling, was the Division's Coach of the Year.

The award winners in Division 3 both came from Champions Woolston Rovers, with Harry Files Player Of the Year and Mal Holt Coach of The Year.

The NCL Referee of the year was awarded to Tara Jones from the Warrington Society who received her award from Shaun Briscoe as she is in the England’s Women squad on their tour to Papua New Guinea.

Jane Alexander from Askam won the Secretary Of The Year for her outstanding work whilst Heworth won the fair play award for the least disciplinary points with one sin bin all season. Wigan St Judes took the programme of the year and the best club Media went to Egremont Rangers.

Two special awards were also given to Wath Brow Coach Ian Rooney for reaching the milestone of coaching 500 games and to Bob Smithies who has recently retired from his role as Match Official Appointments Officer.

The National Conference League would like to put on record their thanks to the league's title sponsor Kingstone Press, and shirt sponsors Rhino and Arnold Clark.