Category 3 Academies offer students a pathway to professional Rugby League in an education setting.

A college who has this status has a formal partnership with a Professional Rugby League Club and is committed to providing a high performance player development environment that meets the RFL standards, while allowing students to continue their further education study.

For more information or to become a Category 3 Academy, contact or

2016/17 Category 3 Academies

Bishop Burton College, Hull FC

Calderdale College, Halifax RLFC

Club Doncaster Sports College, Doncaster RLFC

Coleg Y Cymoedd, Wales Rugby League

Cowley International College, St Helens RFC

Furness College, Barrow Raiders

Hopwood Hall, Rochdale Hornets

Huddersfield Elite Sports Education Academy, Huddersfield Giants

Loughborough College

Newcastle Thunder College Academy, Newcastle Thunder

New College Pontefract, Featherstone Rovers

Salford Red Devils Foundation, Salford Red Devils

South Gloucester and Stroud, Gloucestershire All Golds

Wakefield College, Wakefield Wildcats

Wigan Warriors Education Academy, Wigan Warriors 

To find out more, contact Tony Fretwell e: or Adam Hughes e: