9th October 2019, 09:09 | ncl

NCL announce Player of the Year nominees

NCL announce Player of the Year nominees

The Kingstone press National Conference League Player of the Year nominations for each division have been revealed with the tragically departed Archie Bruce included within those for the First Division.

The actual League Player of the Year is the one named from the Premier Division and this year, Wath Brow Hornets Karl Dixon, Thatto Heath’s full back Ben Hayes and Hunslet Club Parkside’s Craig McShane are the three nominees who have all been outstanding with their respective clubs. Unfortunately the Champions West Hull’s key players such as Jack Lazenby have just missed out on the nominations.

But in Division One, 19 year old Archie Bruce, who died within 24 hours of making his professional debut for Batley, is  posthumously announced among the first division nominees. His outstanding season had seen him pick up 11 man of the match awards as well as scoring 11 tries in his 15 games for Dewsbury Moor before making the ill fated switch. His contribution certainly would have earned him a nomination had he still been alive, and his tragic death certainly shouldn’t detract from that.

He is up against York Acorn’s Anthony Chilton and Jamie Smith from Champions Pilkington.

In Division two Ince Rose Bridge half back, Danny Cassidy is among the three nominations with Chris Lyth of Hull Dockers and West Bowling’s Danny Halmshaw competing the trio whist in division three it is Gavin Davies of Batley Boys, Harry Files from Woolston and Mark Scott of Hunslet Warriors who are up for the trophy.

The Winners wil be announced along with the Coaches of the Year along with the other awards winners, plus the presentation of the championship trophies at the Special Presentation night o November 2nd at the Cedar Court Hotel, Huddersfield. 

The Kingstone Press Player of the Year Nominations 2019:-

  • Premier Division:-
  • Craig McShane – Hunslet Club Parkside
  • Ben Hayes – Thatto Heath
  • Karl Dixon – Wath Brow Hornets


  • Division One
  • Jamie Smith – Pilkingtons
  • Archie Bruce – Dewsbury Moor
  • Anthony Chilton – York Acorn


  • Division Two
  • Chris Lyth – Hull Dockers
  • Danny Cassidy – Ince Rose Bridge
  • Danny Halmshaw – West Bowling


  • Division Three
  • Harry Files – Woolston
  • Mark Scott – Hunslet Warriors
  • Gavin Davies – Batley Boys