Principal Partner

4th July 2019, 10:40 | schools_rugby_league

Who’ll be crowned Rugby League’s Warners champion schools?

Who’ll be crowned Rugby League’s Warners champion schools?

Victoria Park, Warrington, will host six Warners Champions Schools finals

Warrington’s Victoria Park is the venue on Friday (5 July) for Rugby League’s annual Warners Champion Schools finals day.

Warners Champion Schools is the RFL’s flagship schools' competition and more than 20,000 young Rugby League players from over a thousand schools across England and Wales started out on the road to Warrington. Now the 2019 finals day line-up and kick-off times can be revealed.

Year 8
Girls: Corpus Christi (Leeds) v Sirius Academy (Hull), 1.15pm
Boys: St John Fisher (Wigan) v Wade Deacon (Widnes), 2.15pm

Year 9
Girls: West Lakes (Egremont) v Castleford Academy, 3.30pm
Boys: Castleford Academy v Beamont Collegiate Academy (Warrington), 4.40pm

Year 10
Girls: St John Fisher (Dewsbury) v St Peter’s (Manchester), 5.50pm
Boys: The Brooksbank School (Elland) v Saddleworth School (Oldham), 7pm

Brooksbank were also last year’s Year 10 champions. 

All of the games will be broadcasted live on the RFL's Our League app. 

Year 11 champion schools have already been determined. Castleford Academy defeated Astley High School from Northumberland in the girls’ competition, while in the boys’ Outwood Grange Academy triumphed over Saddleworth.

The Girls’ Year 7 final between Castleford Academy and St John Fisher of Dewsbury was held on Friday with the latter coming away with the title - live on Our League - with a 20-26 victory.

The RFL have been running the Champion Schools for more than three decades and this year agreed a welcome sponsorship deal with Warners Fish Merchants, the UK’s leading importers of Icelandic frozen-at-sea haddock and cod.

Warners Fish Merchants managing director Gary Warner said: “I love Rugby League, I’ve been involved with Doncaster Toll Bar community club for a long time and from coaching the youngsters there I know how much they love it too. That’s why I’m delighted to be able to support the RFL’s Champion Schools competition, which provides such a great incentive for so many boys and girls to play the game.”

Meanwhile the final of the Year 7 Boys’ competition will feature Great Sankey of Warrington and Standish of Wigan. The final itself, played for the Steven Mullaney Trophy, will be a curtain raiser to the Coral Challenge Cup Final at Wembley Stadium in August.

Steven Mullaney was the schoolboy who, in 1986, thrilled television viewers across the country by scoring a superb solo try as Wakefield Schools defeated St Helens 17-0 in the Challenge Cup Final curtain-raiser. Tragically, Steven died in a road traffic accident the following year and the Year 7 Boys’ final has since been renamed in his memory.