18th May 2019, 22:02 | summerbash

Halifax edge out Bradford in thriller

Halifax edge out Bradford in thriller

Halifax earned a hard-fought victory in the final game of Day One at the Summer Bash thanks to an Elliot Morris try 15 minutes from time. 

‘Fax went into half-time with a narrow deficit however Morris’ late try sealed victory with Scott Murrell slotting a late drop-goal to cap off a memorable victory.

Bradford showed no hangover from last weekend’s huge Challenge Cup victory over Leeds Rhinos in the early stages as they took the lead after just five minutes. The Bulls worked the ball wide and David Foggin-Johnson managed to finish well in the corner. 

Halifax hit back when Ben Kavanagh was too strong for the Bulls defence, but Bradford soon regained their advantage when Dalton Grant somehow got the ball down under pressure from three defenders. 

Midway through the first half, Quentin Laula-Togagae – who was a thorn in Bradford’s side throughout – managed to step his way over. 

As the clock rolled towards half-time the Bulls took every opportunity they could to add points in the form of two Elliot Minchella penalty goals. The back-rowers second meant Bradford went into the break with a two-point lead.

A nip-and-tuck second half ensued with both teams awaiting a moment of weakness from the other and it was Halifax who managed to force their way through.

Laula-Togagae’s trickery saw him slice through the Bulls line and find an onrushing Morris on his shoulder who slid under the posts much to the delight of the Halifax fans in front of him. Steve Tyrer’s successful conversion opened up a six-point lead.

Bradford pushed in the final ten minutes coming close on a number of occasions however it was Halifax cult hero Murrell who would have the final say as he kicked a drop-goal from 25 metres out.


Bradford Bulls: Ethan Ryan, Dalton Grant, Jake Webster, Ross Oakes, David Foggin-Johnson; Rowan Milnes, Jordan Lilley; Liam Kirk, Sam Hallas, Steve Crossley, Matthew Storton, Elliot Minchella, Mikey Wood.

Interchanges: Farrell, Wildie, Green, Roche. 

Halifax RLFC: Quentin Laula-Togagae, Will Sharp, Chester Butler, Stephen Tyrer, Shaun Robinson; Scott Murrell, Scott Grix; Ben Kavanagh, Ben Kaye, Elliot Morris, Ed Barber, Liam Cooper, Jacob Fairbank.

Interchanges: Brandon Moore, Dan Fleming, Kevin Larroyer, Connor Davies. 

Referee: Tom Grant.