Rugby League

England RL

31 May 2024

England Wheelchair squad for 2024 confirmed

England Wheelchair squad for 2024 confirmed

Tom Coyd MBE names 16-strong England Wheelchair squad

Ahead of Saturday’s Betfred Wheelchair Challenge Cup Final, the England Head Coach Tom Coyd MBE has named an expanded National Performance Squad which includes three uncapped players from Essex, Kent and East Yorkshire, and three members of the Wigan Warriors squad who will take on Catalans Dragons at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield in a match that will be shown live on BBC Sport (130pm).

Jack Heggie, Martin Lane and Adam Rigby have been rewarded for their form in Wigan’s impressive start to the season, which has secured their first Challenge Cup Final appearance – and will now head for Wembley Stadium for Challenge Cup Finals Day on Saturday week (June 8) before the first NPS gathering of 2024 at Medway Park in Kent the following day.

They will be joined by Sebastien Bechara MBE, the Nottingham-born Catalans Dragons stalwart who will be on the opposing side in this Saturday’s Final, and who is one of two members of the NPS based overseas – alongside Jack Brown, the former Halifax Panthers star who now works in North Queensland and plays for the Cowboys.

The three uncapped players are Mason Billington and Jason Owen of London Roosters, and Hull FC’s Tristan Norfolk - who all impressed in last Sunday’s “Future of England” event in York, part of the National Development Programme which is aiming to increase the depth of talent available to Coyd, and to uncover future stars.

Tom Coyd said: “Due to the growing depth of talent in our sport the National Performance Squad (NPS) for 2024 has been the toughest selection so far in my tenure as coach of England Wheelchair. 

“With Test matches set to be announced for this autumn but also a World Cup looming in 2026, our objective was to name a squad with plenty of big game experience and also a mix of exciting potential. 

“Our focus during this first phase of the season has been with the National Development Programme, involving multiple development days with a group of players who did not play for England in 2023 but who showed great promise for the future. The NDP culminated last Sunday in York with ‘The Future of England’ exhibition match, where 16 players competed in Test Match conditions in front of a capacity crowd to prove their character and ability under intense pressure.  

“I am delighted that we have been able to select seven players from the NDP, of whom three are potential England debutants in Mason Billington, Tristan Norfolk and Jason Owen. Mason has only recently discovered the sport thanks to the establishment of Brentwood Eels’ Wheelchair team, while Jason was the stand-out player in The Future of England match. 

“Making a return to the NPS are four experienced players who have previously represented England in major tournament finals - Jack Heggie, Martin Lane and Adam Rigby, who have been integral to the outstanding form of Challenge Cup finalists Wigan Warriors, as well as Nathan Holmes from Halifax Panthers.  

“The nine players who represented England in 2023 also re-earn selection to the NPS for this season, through strong form for their respective clubs in the Challenge Cup and preseason matches.

“The first NPS session will take place on Sunday 9 June at Medway Park, the day following the Women’s and Men’s Challenge Cup finals. We are very excited to get going with this fresh squad as we continue to build towards the autumn Test matches and beyond. We will also continue to monitor all England-eligible players who may present themselves in the Super League and Championship as the 2024 season gets underway in the coming weeks.


  • Seb Bechara MBE - Catalans Dragons
  • Mason Billington  - London Roosters
  • Wayne Boardman - Halifax Panthers
  • Jack Brown  - North Queensland Cowboys
  • Josh Butler - Leeds Rhinos
  • Nathan Collins - Leeds Rhinos
  • Joe Coyd  - London Roosters
  • Tom Halliwell OBE  -  Leeds Rhinos
  • Rob Hawkins  -  Halifax Panthers
  • Jack Heggie  - Wigan Warriors
  • Nathan Holmes - Halifax Panthers
  • Lewis King - London Roosters
  • Martin Lane  - Wigan Warriors
  • Tristan Norfolk - Hull FC
  • Jason Owen  - London Roosters
  • Adam Rigby  - Wigan Warriors

Head Coach - Tom Coyd MBE