Rugby League


16 Oct 2023

NCL Award winners unveiled

NCL Award winners unveiled

Hunslet ARLFC fullback Craig McShane has won the Impact Performance National Conference Player of the Year award following an excellent season for the Premier Division Champions. He scored ten tries in twenty games and with his effervescent style, linking from the back, he scored 10 tries in 20 games and walked away with eight player of the match awards in another stellar season. It is the third time in four years that he has won the much-coveted award and he takes the tag back from Benn Arbon who won the same accolade last year. 

The award was handed out at the 2023 Impact National Conference League Awards lunch that took place at Old Trafford Cricket Ground ahead of the BetFred Super League Grand Final.

Other nominations pushed McShane close in the form of the ever-consistent Josh Wood from West Hull and Wath Brow Hornets fullback Cole Walker-Taylor.

Sam Thorpe and Martin Rowse shared the Coach of the Year award after their guidance of Hunslet ARLFC while West Hull's Mark Hewitt was nominated

Division One Player of the Year is West Bowling's second-row Oliver Birtle, who was a beacon of consistency and part of the backbone of Bowling's excellent season that saw them lose just two league games. The second row also added seven tries for good measure.

The shortlist for Division One Player of the Year also included Thornhill Trojans' brilliant Joel Gibson and National Conference League top point scorer Kristian Tyson (Egremont) 

Dean Muir, Bowling coach, who has since taken a professional coaching opportunity at Hunslet won the Coach of the Year accolade ahead of outgoing Egremont Rangers boss John Wells whose team enjoyed a resurgence in the second half of the season to sweep to promotion.

Waterhead Warriors had cause for double celebration in Division Two with Keith Brennan winning coach of the year after guiding them to promotion with an aggregate score of 38-11, and jet-heeled fullback Jenson Hamilton winning Player of the Year following a brilliant personal year that yielded 24 tries and 40 goals.

Dewsbury Moor Maroons were also recognised for their promotion efforts with James Delaney being nominated for Coach of the Year. 

Dewsbury was also well represented in Player of the Year nominations with Shaw Cross Sharks perpetual motion man Tenneson Neagle and Dewbury Moor's 14-try man James Samme making also making the shortlist.

Like the season that has unfolded in Division Three, the awards and nominations came the way of Oldham St Annes and Ellenborough Rangers. Points difference separated the automatic promotees with St Annes Paul Green honoured with Coach of the Year ahead of Rangers Paul Gorge. Ellenborough Rangers centre Zac Olstrum collected the Division Three Player of the Year accolade after a year that saw him cross for 26 tries. Also nominated were St Annes 20-try wing Callum Cashin and 14-try forward Callum Fletcher.

Egremont's Kristian Tyson was recognised for top scoring across the leagues with Wath Brow Hornets Jay Weatherill claiming the top try scorer award. 

Best Club Social Media went to Arron Chorley and Egremont Rangers with Rangers and Kells sharing the best club discipline.

Tom Bell from Stanningley was recognised for his work behind the scenes and collected the Alfreida Kindon Club Secretary of the Year award while St Helens official Denton Arnold collected the Referee of the Year accolade.