4 Feb 2020

England Students Women's squad named

England Students Women's squad named

The first England Students Women's squad under the remit of the England Community Lions programme has been selected by coaches Conor Meese and Ellis Pascall and features a couple of familiar faces from the Betfred Women's Super League.   

Darcy Stott and Pip Birchall (both St Helens), Megan Bragg and Megan Grace Holding (both Wigan), Aallisha Rhodes, Saskia Lewis and new recruit Becky Grady are representing Wakefield Trinity, while former Wakefield player Chloe Billington represents Featherstone Rovers alongside Georgia Cutt. The squad sees a total of 24 names with 19 colleges or universities around the country represented including Northumbria, Loughborough and Staffordshire.

2020 is an exciting year for the newly reformed team. They will be in action as part of a relaunched Presidents Cup and Pankhurst Cup. 

Speaking of the squad Meese said, "It's a massive congratulations to everyone that has been selected after a really competitive couple of trial days. To be selected should hopefully bring pride and excitement to represent your country. We have selected a good mix of youth and experience in the squad which will hopefully compete well in the forthcoming fixtures. Training will be enjoyable but intense, with everyone fighting to gain a starting shirt. It’s going to be tough to try and get the team to click in only a few sessions but all the management team can’t wait to get going. We’re hoping for some encouraging performance to use as a springboard, as we build towards the 2021 World Cup." 

Pascall added, "I'm really pleased with the group of players that we have on board for the programme, there is some exceptional talent throughout the squad. I'm looking forward to starting training with them over the coming months." 

The full squad is listed below including the colleges and universities they represent.

Aallisha Rhodes (Wakefield College)

Abigail Latchford (University of Salford)

Beth Hayes (St John Rigby)

Beth Lindsay (Furness College)

Beth Macmillan (Leeds City College)

Chloe Billington (York St John University)

Danielle Waters (Sirius Academy West)

Darcy Stott (Cronton Sixth Form College)

Ellena Powell (York College)

Ellie Taylor (Loughborough University)

Georgia Cutt (Northumbria University)

Jasmine Hazell (Northumbria University)

Megan Bragg (St John Rigby)

Megan Grace Holding (Wigan Warriors Education Academy)

Megan Moore (Priestley College)

Megan Price (Leeds Trinity University)

Olivia Beresford (New College Pontefract)

Olivia Miah (Staffordshire University)

Pip Birchall (Cronton Sixth Form College)

Rebekah Grady (University Of Leeds)

Sammy Traynor (UCLAN)

Saskia Lewis (Leeds Beckett University)

Shauna Asquith (New College Pontefract)

Zoe Teece (Northumbria University)