8th September 2019, 12:11 | league_1

RFL congratulate Whitehaven

RFL congratulate Whitehaven

The Rugby Football League have congratulated Whitehaven on being crowned Betfred League 1 champions after their 72-0 victory against Coventry Bears on Saturday.

Marc Shackley, the captain of the Cumbrian club, was presented with the trophy by the RFL’s Chief Executive Ralph Rimmer at Webb Ellis Road in Rugby.

Whitehaven have also secured the first promotion place to the Betfred Championship in 2020.

The second place will be earned by the winners of a five-team play-off series beginning next weekend involving Oldham, Newcastle Thunder, Hunslet, Workington Town and Doncaster – and culminating in the Betfred League 1 Play-Off Final on the weekend of October 5-6.

Betfred League 1 will remain an 11-team competition in 2020, as Hemel Stags have been granted a dispensation not to compete in 2020. The club’s proposal to rejoin the league and relocate to Ottawa in Canada, which was approved in principle by the RFL Board earlier this year after a meeting of clubs, has been deferred to the 2021 season.