9th July 2019, 19:55 | rfl

Transfers | Overseas and NFT players

Transfers | Overseas and NFT players

Has your club filled their overseas quota?

With the new signing deadlines for 2019 on the horizon – Friday July 19 for the Coral Challenge Cup and AB Sundecks 1895 Cup, and Friday August 9 for Betfred Super League, Championship and League One – there is more interest than ever in which clubs have filled their overseas quota, and which have room for manoeuvre. 

The RFL has therefore agreed with clubs in all three professional leagues to publish, for the first time, exactly which members of their squad are categorised as overseas quota Players – and also, in the case of Super League clubs, which Players aren’t Federation Trained.

The full rules relating to overseas Players can be found here, in summary, an overseas Player is one who cannot produce satisfactory evidence to the RFL that he is a Professional Player in accordance with the EU Rules guaranteeing the free movement of workers, and is, in most cases, based on the passport held by the individual. Broadly, Players are not classed as overseas if they hold an EU passport or if they are a national of a country with an Association Agreement with the EU (better-known as Kolpak players) – including Players who are nationals of countries such as Samoa, Tonga, Papua New Guinea and Fiji. 

Each Super League, Championship and League One club is permitted to register up to five overseas quota players.

Super League has an additional restriction, limiting each Club to a maximum of seven Players who are not Federation Trained, with a Federation Trained player categorised as a player who has spent three full seasons on the register of a Club which plays under the jurisdiction of a member Club of the RLEF before he ceases to be eligible for the U21s. The full Federation Trained rules can be found here.

This category covers almost all quota players, and also the majority of Off-Quota Kolpak players – and also some British players who did not come through a conventional route to professional Rugby League (for example, signings from rugby union).

Super League

Castleford Tigers

Overseas Players – 5: Cheyse Blair, Peter Mata’utia, Grant Millington, Jordan Rankin, Jesse Sene-Lefao 

NFT Players – 7: Cheyse Blair, Mitch Clark, Peter Mata’utia, Grant Millington, Junior Moors, Jordan Rankin, Jesse Sene-Lefao 

Catalans Dragons 

Overseas Players – 5: Greg Bird, Kenny Edwards, Sam Kasiano, Samisoni Langi, David Mead

NFT Players – 7: Greg Bird, Kenny Edwards, Sam Kasiano, Samisoni Langi, David Mead, Sam Moa, Brayden Williame 

Huddersfield Giants

Overseas Players – 4: Matt Frawley, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Suaia Matagi, Akuila Uate

NFT Players – 5: Matt Frawley, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Suaia Matagi, Ukuma Ta’ai, Akuila Uate

Hull FC

Overseas Players – 5: Bureta Faraimo, Albert Kelly, Sika Manu, Mickey Paea, Carlos Tuimavave 

NFT Players – 6: Bureta Faraimo, Albert Kelly, Sika Manu, Mark Minichiello, Ratu Naulogo (Board Exemption - *New Talent Pool), Mickey Paea, Carlos Tuimavave

Hull KR

Overseas Players – 4: Mitch Garbutt, Weller Hauraki, Matt Parcell, Adam Quinlan

NFT Players – 7: Joshua Drinkwater, Mitch Garbutt, Weller Hauraki, Kane Linnett, Mose Masoe, Matt Parcell, Adam Quinlan 

Leeds Rhinos

Overseas Players – 5: Adam Cuthbertson, Robert Lui, Rhyse Martin, Trent Merrin, Ava Seumanufagai

NFT Players – 7: Wellington Albert (Board Exemption - *Ex-Widnes), Adam Cuthbertson, Konileti Hurrell, Robert Lui, Rhyse Martin, Trent Merrin, Nathaniel Peteru, Ava Seumanufagai 

London Broncos

Overseas Players – 4: Jamie Humphreys, Mark Ioane, Ryan Morgan, Luke Yates

NFT Players – 4: Mark Ioane, Ryan Morgan, Jonah Varela, Luke Yates

Salford Red Devils

Overseas Players – 4: Jackson Hastings, Joey Lussick, Ben Nakubuwai, Ken Sio 

NFT Players – 6: Jackson Hastings, Krisnan Inu (Board Exemption - *Ex-Widnes), Tuimoala Lolohea, Joey Lussick, Ben Nakubuwai, Junior Sau, Ken Sio

St Helens

Overseas Players – 3: Lachlan Coote, Kevin Naiqama, Joseph Paulo 

NFT Players – 6: Lachlan Coote, Kevin Naiqama, Dominique Peyroux, Joseph Paulo, Warren Smith, Zeb Taia 

Wakefield Trinity

Overseas Players – 4: Jacob Miller, Tyler Randall, Kelepi Tanginoa, Bill Tupou 

NFT Players – 7: Tinirau Arona, David Fifita, Jacob Miller, Tyler Randall, Pauli Pauli, Kelepi Tanginoa, Bill Tupou

Warrington Wolves

Overseas Players – 5: Sitaleki Akauola, Blake Austin, Jason Clark, Bryson Goodwin, Jake Mamo

NFT Players – 7: Sitaleki Akauola, Blake Austin, Luther Burrell (Board Exemption - *New Talent Pool), Jason Clark, Bryson Goodwin, Jake Mamo, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Lama Tasi 

Wigan Warriors

Overseas Players – 2: Thomas Leuluai, Jarrod Sammut

NFT Players – 3: Gabriel Hamlin, William Isa, Thomas Leuluai (Board Exemption - *Historic)


Barrow Raiders


Batley Bulldogs


Bradford Bulls

Overseas Players – 1: Jy Hitchcox

Dewsbury Rams

Overseas Players – 1: Jacob Thomas

Featherstone Rovers

Overseas Players – 2: Cameron King, Makahesi Makatoa

Halifax RLFC

Overseas Players – 0: Adam Tangata (Board Exemption – *Ex-Widnes)

Leigh Centurions

Overseas Players – 1: Luke Douglas 

Rochdale Hornets


Sheffield Eagles

Overseas Players - 1: Corey Makelim

Swinton Lions


Toronto Wolfpack

Overseas Players – 5: Darcy Lussick, Josh McCrone, Ashton Sims, Bodene Thompson, Blake Wallace

Toulouse Olympique

Overseas Players – 4:James Bell, Rhys Curran, Mark Kheirallah, Junior VaiVai

Widnes Vikings

Overseas Players – 4: Anthony Gelling, Patrick Ah Van, Joseph Cahill (Board Exemption - *Historic), Harrison Hansen (Board Exemption - *Historic)

York City Knights


League One

Coventry Bears


Doncaster RLFC

Overseas Players – 2: Rangi Chase, Jordie Hedges

Hunslet RLFC


Keighley Cougars


London Skolars

Overseas Players – 1: Elliot Jennings  

Newcastle Thunder 

Overseas Players – 3: Joel Edwards, Carne Manga-Doyle, Nicolas Newman

North Wales Crusaders 


Oldham RLFC


West Wales Raiders

Overseas Players – 2: Tyler Hunt, Dalton Desmond Walker 

Whitehaven RLFC


Workington Town