Trinity  22-12  Catalans  FT

12th February 2018, 10:12 | commonwealth_championship

England backed by RLWC2021 for Commonwealth Championship 9s

England backed by RLWC2021 for Commonwealth Championship 9s

Rugby League World Cup 2021 to support England team.

The 2021 Rugby League World Cup is backing the England squad ahead of the 2018 Commonwealth Championship 9s, which kicks off on February 23.

England, whose 15-man squad is made up of under 23s players from the community game, head out to Moreton Bay, Brisbane, on Sunday, where they will take on Tonga, Samoa and Papua New Guinea in the group stages on Friday, February 23, before the fight for bronze, silver and gold medals on Saturday, February 24.

RLWC2021 CEO Jon Dutton said: "We are delighted to be supporting the England team for their Commonwealth 9s campaign.

"The players and staff have been carefully selected for the tournament and I'm sure they will all do their country proud.

"International Rugby League is the pinnacle of the sport and I'm looking forward seeing the England team showcase their skills on the biggest stage.

"We are keen to support international development opportunities as part of our legacy, and supporting the England team for the Commonwealth 9s is the perfect opportunity to start inspiring Rugby League players of all ages ahead of 2021."

England take on Papua New Guinea at 10.40am local time on day one, before lining up against Samoa at 12.55pm.

Their final game of the day is against Tonga at 5.15pm, with bronze, silver and gold medals then up for grabs on day two, with all fixtures taking place at Dolphin Oval, home of the Redcliffe Dolphins.

Full details about the two-day tournament can be found here:



Darrion Ball - Wigan St Judes
Frankie Halton - Leigh Miners Rangers
Gregory Howland - Wath Brow Hornets
Callum Farrer - Wath Brow Hornets
Sam Baggaley - Orrell St James
Jake Moore - West Hull
Liam Quinn - Thatto Heath Crusaders
Owen Restall - Underbank Rangers
Gavin Rodden - Wigan St Judes
Sam Rotchford - Underbank Rangers
Danny Ryding - Wigan St Pats (captain)
Declan Sheridan - Rochdale Mayfield
Danny Sowerby - Lock Lane
Tyler Spence - Wigan St Pats
Cole Walker-Taylor - Wath Brow Hornets (vice captain)

Head Coach: Allan Coleman - Leigh Miners Rangers