11th October 2020, 19:55 | ChallengeCup

Liam Moore to make history at 2020 Coral Challenge Cup Final

Liam Moore to make history at 2020 Coral Challenge Cup Final

Liam Moore has been appointed to referee next Saturday’s Coral Challenge Cup Final between Leeds Rhinos and Salford Red Devils at Wembley Stadium.

It will be Moore’s first major Final since he joined the RFL’s Grade One list of Match Officials in 2016. He moved into the Full-Time squad the following year at the age of 21 – and at 25, he is thought to be one of the youngest referees to take charge of the Challenge Cup Final, if not the youngest.

Despite his relative youth, this will not be Moore’s first time refereeing at Wembley – he took charge of the traditional Champion Schools curtain-raiser in 2013, at the age of 18.

Tom Grant and Jack Smith will be the Touch Judges; Ben Thaler has been appointed Video Referee; and Chris Kendall will be Reserve Referee, with Cameron Worsley the Reserve Touch Judge.

Tony Brown will be the Match Commissioner, Liam Rush will be the standby Match Official, with Aileen Mills the Match Timekeeper.

Dave Rotheram, the RFL’s Chief On-Field Officer, said: “Congratulations to Liam Moore for being appointed to referee his first Challenge Cup Final, and to all the other officials who have been appointed for Wembley.

“It was not an easy decision, given the high quality of performance by our officials in what has been an especially difficult season.

“Liam deserves this opportunity for the consistency he has shown since the restart of the season in August.

“After Chris Kendall’s appointment for the Betfred Super League Grand Final and international fixtures last autumn, it is encouraging to have a growing pool of officials who are pushing for recognition in the game’s showpiece occasions.”

Appointments for this week's Betfred Super League fixtures will be confirmed on Monday.


Match Official appointments, Coral Challenge Cup Final, Saturday October 17 – Leeds Rhinos v Salford Red Devils

Referee: Liam Moore

Touch Judges: Tom Grant, Jack Smith

Video Referee: Ben Thaler

Reserve Referee: Chris Kendall

Reserve Touch Judge: Cameron Worsley

Match Commissioner: Tony Brown

Standby Official: Liam Rush

Time Keeper: Aileen Mills