Rugby-League.com

Become a Match Official

Match Officials are crucial to the game of Rugby League and anybody can take up the whistle

The RFL welcomes applications

The Rugby Football League are currently on the lookout for talented people to take up officiating.

As an inclusive sport, the RFL welcomes applications from everyone and has a commitment to progressing towards achieving greater diversity. We therefore strongly encourage applications from candidates from under-represented sections of the community whether based on sex, gender, race, disability, sexuality or other protected characteristics. 

In place, there is an accessible pathway for emerging Match Officials to progress all the way to the top of the game – juniors and seniors alike!

To become a Match Official, simply follow these steps:

  • Complete the FREE online 'Laws of The Game' training module - CLICK HERE
  • Contact your local society or region to get involved - see 'REFEREE SOCIETIES' below
  • Attend a course run by your local society or region, get a certificate and get on the field!

The local societies or regions will then continue to work with you in your development by holding group training nights, getting senior or mentor officials to watch any games you are officiating and having a network of officials from your local society to speak to regularly about officiating.

Your local society representative will have more information on when a course is planned for your local area so please contact them for course information.

If you would like more information, or would like to speak to someone about becoming a Rugby League Match Official, please contact the Match Officials Department on 0113 8239178.

Match Officials Courses

We have many officiating course throughout the country, please contact us for more info

morecruitment@rfl.co.uk

Referee Societies

Society Contact Email
Army Dennis Nowell den230sig@hotmail.com
Barrow Terry Barker terry.rugby@outlook.com
Bradford Alex Cameron Alexandra.cameron123@gmail.com
Castleford & Featherstone Cameron Worsley
cworsley1999@hotmail.com
Cumberland Rob Jones robpjones@hotmail.co.uk
Dewsbury & Batley Liam Rush liammrush@gmail.com
Huddersfield Becky Whiteley becciwhiteley@gmail.com
Hull Mike Beadle beadle63@hotmail.com
Leeds Paul Chippendale pchipp@googlemail.com
Leigh Steve Abel steve.refabel@gmail.com
London & The South Kieran O'Shea kieran_oshea_best@hotmail.com
Manchester Sam Houghton grimmy6@hotmail.co.uk
Masters Paul Field mastersrugbyleague@gmail.com
Midlands & South West Mike Smaill Michael.Smaill@rfl.co.uk
North East Gavin Houston gmhouston1983@gmail.com
Oldham Bob Smithies bob.smithies@rfl.uk.com
PDRL/LDRL Stuart Marshall 13stuartm@gmail.com
Scotland Ollie Cruickshank officials@scotlandrl.com
South West  Malcolm Holmes malc665@hotmail.com
South Yorkshire Sally Walters-Thomas sallywt@hotmail.co.uk
St Helens Phil Smith philsmithref1@hotmail.com
Wakefield Steve Race race.7@live.co.uk
Wales James Jones jjref@hotmail.com
Warrington Ollie Maddock ollie1604@outlook.com
Widnes Lewis O'Brien lewisob2002@gmail.com
Wigan Peter Meadows pmeadows07@gmail.com
York Paul Stockman p.stockman@sky.com
Yorkshire Recruitment Coordinator Paul Crashley yrlmod@gmail.com