Principal Partner

6th January 2021, 08:40 | Leeds

Leeds Rhinos confirm 2021 squad numbers

Leeds Rhinos confirm 2021 squad numbers

Leeds Rhinos have confirmed their squad number ahead of the 2021 season in which they will look to defend the Challenge Cup. 

The biggest mover is England Knights International Mikolaj Oledzki who – following an impressive 2020 season – is handed the number eight shirt, previously donned by Ava Seumanufagai. 

Fellow England Knight Cameron Smith is handed the 17 jersey while prop-forward Tom Holroyd is elevated from 28 to 18. 

New Zealand International Zane Tetevano – who arrived at the club in the off-season – will wear the 13 jersey which was previously worn by Stevie Ward before confirmation of his retirement earlier this week.   

Alex Sutcliffe moves from 26 to 21 whilst Sam Walter also moves from 27 to 22. Teenage quartet Liam Tindall, Corey Hall, Levi Edwards and Morgan Gannon complete the squad with the final four squad numbers.

The 19 shirt remains vacant. 

Leeds Rhinos Director of Rugby, Kevin Sinfield, said: “We wanted the players to be the first to learn the new squad numbers when they arrived in for pre-season to pick up their new look Oxen training kit complete with their number on. 

“I am pleased for all those who have been elevated as they have earned that move for their hard work and dedication over the last year. The entire squad knows the hard work starts now as we look to improve from 2020. 

“As in previous years, we have left one squad number vacant in our top 25 players. We are looking at a number of options but will only bring someone in who strengthens our group. This is an exciting squad of players in terms of their age and talent, with the majority on long-term contracts with the club.”

Here are the squad numbers in full: 

  1. Jack Walker
  2. Tom Briscoe
  3. Harry Newman
  4. Konrad Hurrell
  5. Ash Handley
  6. Rob Lui
  7. Luke Gale
  8. Mikolaj Oledzki
  9. Kruise Leeming
  10. Matt Prior
  11. Alex Mellor
  12. Rhyse Martin
  13. Zane Tetevano
  14. Brad Dwyer
  15. Liam Sutcliffe
  16. Richie Myler
  17. Cameron Smith
  18. Tom Holroyd
  20. Bodene Thompson
  21. Alex Sutcliffe
  22. Sam Walters
  23. Callum McLelland
  24. Luke Briscoe
  25. James Donaldson
  26. Jarrod O’Connor
  27. Jack Broadbent
  28. Corey Hall
  29. Liam Tindall
  30. Levi Edwards
  31. Morgan Gannon