Principal Partner

31st January 2020, 10:25 | englandrl

England trio up for inaugural Wheelchair Golden Boot

England trio up for inaugural Wheelchair Golden Boot

Eight contenders for the inaugural Wheelchair award have been nominated by the newly formed International Rugby League Wheelchair Steering Group after a busy international season, in which England toured France and Australia as well as playing in a Tri Nations tournament in Wales. 

The eight nominees are as follows: Jack Brown, Nathan Collins and James Simpson (England); Gilles Clausells and Kevin Pastor (France); Cory Cannane (Australia); Jay Anderson (Scotland); Stuart Williams (Wales).

Jack Brown, Nathan Collins and James Simpson all starred in England's dominate 5-0 tour success in Australia at the back end of 2019, with Brown's Halifax side winning the Wheelchair RL Grand Final, while Collins and Simpson experienced great success too in the domestic season, with Leeds securing the League Leaders Shield and Challenge Cup Final. 

Stuart Williams and Jay Anderson also represent the home nations, specifically Wales and Scotland respectively, while Kevin Pastor and Gillies Clausells have both starred for France in their journey to be recognised as one of the leading players in the international wheelchair game.

Australian Cory Cannane is the final contender, who famously played alongside his dad at club St George Wheelchair RL, as well as during the Origin and International games against England at the end of 2019. 

The winner will be revealed at the Wheelchair Rugby League Awards in Leeds on Friday 31st January.