Rhinos  19:45 Warriors

Principal Partner

26th January 2020, 15:22 | ChallengeCup

Rochdale Hornets to host Coral Challenge Cup Third Round Draw

Rochdale Hornets to host Coral Challenge Cup Third Round Draw

Draw to take place on Monday 27 January, 6:30pm

The draw for the third round of the Coral Challenge Cup will be broadcast by BBC Sport online tomorrow evening (Monday 27 January, 6.30pm), live from Rochdale Hornets Crown Oil Arena.

Hornets are one of 11 Betfred League 1 clubs going into the hat, alongside the 11 teams which emerged victorious from this weekend’s second round ties.

Presenting the draw will be the BBC's Dave Woods, while the teams themselves will be drawn by the Rochdale-based St Helens duo Jack Ashworth and Matty Lees, the latter a product of the thriving local community club Rochdale Mayfield. 

Mayfield claimed their place in the third round in dramatic fashion with a 19-18 drop-goal victory over GB Police. Joining them in the hat will be another side whose second round tie went down to the wire – the British Army, who fought from 6-16 down against Skirlaugh to take the game into extra-time before clinching a golden point winner courtesy of Ben O’Connell’s drop-goal.

Rochdale Hornets’ chief executive, Steve Kerr, says: "It’s a real privilege to be asked to host the Challenge Cup draw and is another positive for Rochdale fans and sponsors alike.

"With the third round brought forward to the 9 February, our first competitive game is an unknown, so it adds to the excitement of who we’ll play as our 2020 season opener. With some quality teams in the draw, we’re hoping for a home draw.”

The following clubs, in order of their draw numbers, will be in the hat.

  1. Barrow Raiders
  2. Bentley
  3. British Army 
  4. Coventry Bears
  5. Doncaster
  6. Hunslet
  7. Ince Rose Bridge
  8. Keighley Cougars
  9. Leigh Miners Rangers 
  10. London Skolars
  11. Newcastle Thunder
  12. North Wales Crusaders
  13. Rochdale Hornets
  14. Rochdale Mayfield
  15. Siddal 
  16. Thornhill Trojans 
  17. Underbank Rangers 
  18. West Bowling 
  19. West Hull
  20. West Wales Raiders
  21. Workington Town
  22. York Acorn 

Ties will be played on the weekend of 8/9 February. 

13 Betfred Championship clubs will enter the competition at round four, followed by four Betfred Super League clubs at round five and the rest at round six.

BBC Sport and the Rugby Football League will continue to stream games up to and including the fifth round, with the BBC televising two ties from the sixth round and the quarter finals, and then both semi finals which will be played along with the Coral Women’s Challenge Cup Final in a triple header at the University of Bolton Stadium on Saturday 6 June.

The 2020 Coral Challenge Cup Final will be played at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 18 July.

The 2020 Coral Challenge Cup Final will be played at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 18 July. Tickets are available online here.

2020 Coral Challenge Cup schedule

February 8-9: Third Round (11 Second Round winners, 11 Betfred League 1 clubs)

February 22-23: Fourth Round (11 Third Round winners, 13 English Betfred Championship clubs)

March 14-15: Fifth Round (12 Fourth Round winners, plus four Betfred Super League clubs – Huddersfield Giants, Hull KR, Toronto Wolfpack, Wakefield Trinity)

April 4-5: Sixth Round (8 Fifth Round winners, plus the remaining 8 Betfred Super League clubs)

May 9-10: Quarter Finals

June 6: Semi Finals 

Saturday July 18: Final - Wembley Stadium connected by EE