Principal Partner

9th August 2019, 09:05 | england_lions

England Community Lions Open Age announce 22-man touring squad

England Community Lions Open Age announce 22-man touring squad

England Community Lions have today announced their 22-man Open Age squad set to tour the Southern Hemisphere in October. 

The 22-man squad will tour New Zealand from the 19th October to the 4th November, playing 3 games against the North Island Select, New Zealand Maoris and New Zealand Residents. 

The squad includes 22 players from across 12 community clubs, showcasing the best of the community game from across the UK. 

The 22 players will next meet up on Sunday 1st September, as they begin preparations ahead of the tour. 

Speaking on selection, Head Coach, Richard Owen said “The selection process has been a challenging, to have so many talented players from across the country has enabled us to form a squad we hope can represent themselves, their community clubs and the England Community lions well – as well as being successful in what is certain to be a competitive and challenging environment. 

From the two trial games to selection, over 60 players have been involved from across all regions and levels of the community game.

I have selected a strong and robust squad with size and the ability to play in several positions as I believe this is important when playing against quality opposition like the ones we face in New Zealand.  

I have been lucky enough to be part of the England Community Lions several times as an Assistant Coach and I’m really looking forward to working with all these players as a Head Coach. I would also like to thank Richard Knight, my assistant, who has been fantastic throughout the process.

The hard work starts now for the players and I think this will prove to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience for them all.”  

England Community Lions Open Age 22-man Touring Squad: 

Andy Boothroyd (Underbank Rangers), Tony Burns (Kells), Karl Dixon (Wath Brow), Connor Dwyer (Thatto Heath Crusaders), Gareth Gale (Featherstone Lions), Keiran Glen (Egremont Rangers), Ben Heyes (Thatto Heath Crusaders), Tom Horner (Egremont Rangers), David Kennerdy (Orrell St. James), Fran King (Wath Brow), Jack Lazenby (West Hull), Gareth Morgan (Saddleworth Rangers), Marcus O’Brien (Egremont Rangers), Gavin Rodden (Wigan St. Judes), Danny Ryding (Wigan St Pats), Chris Siddons (Castleford Lock Lane), Scott Spaven (West Hull), Mike Stark (Thatto Heath Crusaders), Curtis Teare (Wath Brow), Jamie Tracey (Thatto Heath Crusaders), Freddie Walker (Siddal), Ryan Wilson (West Hull)