18th September 2019, 16:23 | man_of_steel

Contenders For Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel Award

Contenders For Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel Award

Five stars in the running...

Five players are in contention to win the 2019 Man of Steel award.

They are:

1. Blake Austin (Warrington Wolves)

2. Lachlan Coote (St Helens)

3. Jackson Hastings (Salford Red Devils)

4. Liam Watts (Castleford Tigers)

5. George Williams (Wigan Warriors) 

The winner will be announced at the Betfred Super League Awards at the Lowry Theatre, Salford Quays, on October 6. 

A panel of expert judges, led by Ellery Hanley MBE, have been awarding points to the top three performers in every Betfred Super League game this season. 

When voting ‘went dark’ after round 22 – ie when scores for individual performances stopped being published – Warrington Wolves Blake Austin and Salford Red Devils Jackson Hastings were tied for the lead.

Strong displays from a number of players in the closing stages of the season has left a stellar list of players in the hunt of the sport’s biggest individual accolade.  

Hanley, the only player to win three Man of Steel awards, said: “The panellists have been lucky to have witnessed first-hand some exceptional performances this season.

“I have often watched games back before awarding points at the matches I’ve been judging and that has helped me appreciate even more the range ofskill and determination of so many players. 

“The five guys in contention have been pivotal to their team’s success and for that they deserve recognition for outstanding seasons. 

“But only one person can win and we look forward to finding out who that is at the Super League Awards next month.” 

The Telegraph Women of Steel will also be confirmed at the event with Castleford Tigers' Kelsey Gentles, Leeds Rhinos' Courtney Hill and St Helens' Emily Rudge nominated. 

Book your tickets to the Betfred Super League Awards on October 6 through your club.