Rugby League


20 Feb 2024

Disciplinary | Operational Rules Tribunal

Disciplinary | Operational Rules Tribunal

Hull FC’s Franklin Pele will miss three matches and teammate Ligi Sao one following tonight’s independent Operational Rules tribunals.

Pele was referred to tribunal on a Grade E Head Contact Charge after being dismissed in the opening round of the Betfred Super League against Hull KR. He challenged the grading, which was adjudged to be correct. He is also fined £750. 

Sao was charged with Grade D Other Contrary Behaviour during the same match, but successfully challenged the grading, which was lowered to B. He is fined £250.

Ryan Brierley will be available for Salford Red Devils’ next match after his Grade C Head Contact charge was downgraded to B on appeal. He is, however, fined £250. 

Castleford Tigers’ Liam Watts will miss his side’s next four matches, having failed to have his Grade E Head Contact charge downgraded at tonight’s independent Operational Rules Tribunals. 

Watts pleaded guilty to contact with the head of an opponent during Saturday’s Betfred Super League match against Wigan Warriors and the tribunal decided that the original Match Review Panel grading should stand. Tigers’ teammate Charbel Tasipale, however, saw his head contact charge downgraded from C to B and is free to play this weekend. The players are fined £750 and £250 respectively.

Catalans Dragons’ duo Michael McIlorum and Paul Seguier are banned for four matches and one match respectively following independent Operational Rules Tribunals this evening. 

McIlorum was unsuccessful in challenging a charge of Grade E Head Contact during Saturday’s Betfred Super League match against Warrington Wolves. Seguier, however, saw his Grade D Head Contact charge downgraded to C on appeal. He is fined £250, whilst McIlorum is fined £750. 

Further hearings are taking place throughout the evening. 

Earlier today, the following players accepted Match Review Panel-imposed penalty notices. 

  • Herman Ese’Ese (Hull FC) – Head Contact – Grade D – 2 Matches – £250 Fine
  • Jayden Okunbor (Hull FC) – Dangerous Contact – Grade B – £250 Fine
  • Harry Smith (Wigan Warriors) – Dangerous Throw/Lift – Grade B – £250 Fine
  • Jordan Crowther (Warrington Wolves) – Other Contrary Behaviour – Grade C – 1 Match 
  • Coby Nichol (Cornwall) – Head Contact – Grade B – £40 fine
  • Lewis Hosty (Siddal) – Punching – Grade D – 2 Matches
  • Jarrod Sammut (Workington Town) – Dangerous Contact – Grade C – 1 Match 
  • Jack Stephenson (Workington Town) – Dangerous Contact – Grade B – £40 Fine
  • Joe Lovodua (Doncaster) – Dangerous Contact – Grade C – 1 Match
  • Toby Everett (Hunslet) – Head Contact – Grade B – £40 Fine
  • Matt Parcell (Hull KR) – Other Contrary Behaviour – Grade B – 1 Match

The following tribunals will take place on Wednesday 21 February. 

  • Luke Broadbent (Barrow Raiders) – Punching – Grade E
  • Ben O’Keefe (Oldham) – Punching – Grade D – 2 Matches 
  • Josh Hartshorne (Cornwall) – Punching – Grade E 
  • Oliver Lewis (Siddal) – Punching – Grade E
  • Mason Lino (Wakefield Trinity) – Striking – Grade D – 3 Matches – £125 Fine
  • Dean Roberts (Featherstone Rovers) – Unacceptable Language – Grade F 

The following players have had their cases deferred by a week as they do not have a game this weekend.

  • Tom Amone (Leigh Leopards) – Head Contact – Grade C – 2 Matches
  • Jack Hughes (Leigh Leopards) – Dangerous Contact – Grade B – £250 Fine
  • Ricky Leutele (Leigh Leopards) – Head Contact – Grade C – 1 Match
  • Zak Hardaker (Leigh Leopards) – Dangerous Contact – Grade B – £250 Fine