16th December 2019, 09:30 | university

2020 University Rugby League Origin Game Train On Squads Announced

2020 University Rugby League Origin Game Train On Squads Announced

Following the round of inter-regional games in November, England Universities Head Coach Richard Tate has named the two 30 man train-on squads for the 5th Annual University Rugby League Origin Game which takes place Saturday 1st February 2020, 3pm Kick Off at Loughborough University.

"I'd like to congratulate all of the players on their selection for the train-on squads," said Richard Tate, England Universities Head Coach. 

"All players now need to continue to impress at training in January to be selected for the game and myself and Kevin Deighton are looking forward to seeing how they go in the game and I'm sure we'll have more difficult decisions to make when it comes to selecting for the England squad.

The North squad is drawn on players who played for the North East, Yorkshire and North West whilst the South squad is made up of players from the Midlands, South East and South West.

Both squads will be reduced to 20 ahead of the game, with those players being in contention for selection for the 2020 England squad. Both squads are bursting at the seams with talent, with players from the semi-professional game to be found in both sides, representing 23 institutions, again showing the national appeal of University Rugby League. 

The full train-on squads are as follows:


Alex Bielby  (Northumbria / North East)

Ben Bradshaw  (Hull / Yorkshire)

Cameron Brown  (Liverpool John Moores / North West) 

Jordan Bull  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire)

Brad Calland  (Edge Hill / North West) 

Jed Charlton  (Northumbria / North East)

Matthew Chrimes  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire)

Daniel Coates  (Northumbria / North East)

Sean Croston  (Northumbria / North East)

Anthony Dyne  (Northumbria / North East)

Jack Earl  (Newcastle / North East) 

Alex Eckley  (Liverpool John Moores / North West) 

Stephen Gibbs  (York St John / North East) 

Ben Gray  (Sheffield Hallam / Yorkshire) 

Elias Harrison  (Manchester Metropolitan / North West)

Hassan Hussain  (UC Leeds / Yorkshire)

Ryan Johnson  (Hull / Yorkshire)

Jake Lightowler  (Northumbria / North East) 

Conner MacCallum  (Manchester Metropolitan / North West) 

Tom Millington  (Edge Hill / North West)

Cameron Moore  (Northumbria / North East)

Daniel Munt  (Salford / North West)

Luke Nelmes  (UCEN Manchester / North West)

Rory Nettleton  (Northumbria / North East)

Richard Pogson  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire)

Alex Smith  (Liverpool John Moores / North West)

Nathan Taylor  (Edge Hill / North West)

Tom Wilcox  (Northumbria / North East)

Alex Wilkins  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire) 

Kellen Wood  (Liverpool John Moores / North West)


Sam Bloomer  (St Mary’s / South East)

Robert Branton  (Loughborough / Midlands)

William Budd  (St Mary’s / South East) 

Joshua Bull  (Reading / South East)

Alex Chapman  (Gloucestershire / South West) 

James Cowen  (Lincoln / Midlands) 

Ciaran Dean  (Nottingham / Midlands)

Brett Davies (Gloucestershire / South West)

Thomas Firth  (St Mary's / South East)

Ben Foskett  (Wolverhampton / Midlands) 

Sam Fraser  (Bath / South West)

Joshua Frost  (Gloucestershire / South West) 

Sam Gilder  (Gloucestershire / South West)

Caley Gray  (Bath / South West)

Isaac Greene  (Loughborough / Midlands)

Marcus Hockey  (St Mary's / South East)

Joshua Hodson  (St Mary's / South East)

Michael Holden  (Cardiff Metropolitan / South West)

Jacob Jones  (Loughborough College / Midlands) 

Owen Jones  (Reading / South East)

Sam Jones  (Reading / South East)

Luke Kilford  (Gloucestershire / South West)

Jacob Lavin  (Loughborough / Midlands)

Oliver Perez  (University of South Wales / South West) 

George Prewett  (Loughborough / Midlands)

Nathan Redmond  (Loughborough / Midlands)

Marc Sellers  (St Mary's / South East)

Luke Shaw  (Lincoln / Midlands)

Ben Tatton  (Reading / South East)

Charlie Tod  (Gloucestershire / South West)