12th November 2019, 08:10 | great_britain

GB name 21-man squad ahead of historic PNG clash

GB name 21-man squad ahead of historic PNG clash

Great Britain Rugby League Lions Head Coach Wayne Bennett has named his provisional 21-man squad for this Saturday’s final game of the Lions tour against Papua New Guinea Kumuls in Port Moresby.

The team have had a hectic schedule since Saturday’s clash with New Zealand in Christchurch, having travelled to Papua New Guinea via Brisbane so Bennett has named a provisional 21 man squad that includes all seventeen players who featured against the Kiwis plus Joe Philbin and Zak Hardaker, who could return after missing Saturday’s game through injury, along with George Williams and Jake Trueman, who are yet to feature in the tour so far.

The Lions will train for the first time in Papua New Guinea on Wednesday before a final team run on Friday at the Oil Search Stadium. The squad will then be reduced to 19 players for the clash. It is the first time that Great Britain have visited the Rugby League-mad nation of Papua New Guinea since 1996, and it will be a historic occasion with England Women facing the PNG Orchids beforehand at the same venue as they look to complete a two game series win.


The 21-man squad in full is:


1. Jonny Lomax (Orrell St James, St Helens)

2. Jermaine McGillvary (Deighton Juniors, Huddersfield Giants)

3. Jack Hughes (Golborne Parkside, Warrington Wolves) 

4. Jake Connor (Siddal, Hull FC)

5. Blake Austin (Doonside Roos, Warrington Wolves)

6. Gareth Widdop (Kings Cross, St George Illawarra Dragons)

7. Jackson Hastings (Western Suburbs Red Devils, Salford Red Devils)

8. Chris Hill (New Springs Lions, Warrington Wolves)

9. Josh Hodgson (East Hull, Canberra Raiders)

10. Tom Burgess (Dewsbury Moor, South Sydney Rabbitohs)

11. John Bateman (Bradford Dudley Hill, Canberra Raiders)

12. Elliott Whitehead (West Bowling, Canberra Raiders)

13. James Graham (c) (Thatto Heath, St George Illawarra Dragons)

14. Josh Jones (Blackbrook, Salford Red Devils)

15. Luke Thompson (Bold Miners, St Helens)

16. Daryl Clark (Fryston Warriors, Warrington Wolves)

17. Alex Walmsley (Dewsbury Celtic, St Helens)

18. Joe Philbin (Culcheth Eagles, Warrington Wolves)

19. George Williams (Wigan St Patricks, Wigan Warriors)

20. Jake Trueman (West Bowling, Castleford Tigers)

21. Zak Hardaker (Featherstone Lions, Wigan Warriors)