13th December 2018, 16:46 | englandrl

Two changes for England Academy

Two changes for England Academy

England Academy head coach Dave Elliott has made two changes to his 17-man squad to face the Australian Schoolboys at Emerald Headingley Stadium on Friday, December 14th (KO 7.30pm).

Tom Nisbet of St Helens comes in on the wing, and Leeds forward Owen Trout is promoted to the starting 13 in place of the injured James McDonnell, with his Rhinos team-mate Loui McConnell included on the bench. That takes the Leeds representation in the 17-man squad to seven.

Hull FC's Cameron Scott will once again captain the side as they aim to secure a second win and a series victory over the Schoolboys.

Harry Newman of Leeds Rhinos and Wigan Warriors' Harry Smith, who both scored crucial tries in the first Test are also included.

Looking ahead to the game, Academy Head Coach Dave Elliott said: "There's been buoyant mood in camp this week. We're excited and feeling prepared.

"On Saturday, our effort and commitment throughout the whole game was outstanding. The energy and commitment in defence got us through in the end and we'll need to be on our game again on Friday.

"All the players and staff are really excited about potentially winning the test series 2-0. It doesn't come around too often at any age group.

"We'll all be putting everything in to getting that 'whitewash'."

  1. Jack Welsby - St Helens, Blackbrook
  2. Innes Senior - Huddersfield Giants, Newsome Panthers
  3. Cameron Scott (c) - Hull FC, Wyke
  4. Harry Newman - Leeds Rhinos, Newsome Panthers
  5. Tom Nisbet - St Helens, Newton Storm
  6. Callum McLelland - Leeds Rhinos, Lock Lane
  7. Harry Smith - Wigan Warriors, Halton Farnworth Hornets
  8. Oliver Wilson - Bradford Bulls, Greetland All Rounders
  9. Corey Johnson - Leeds Rhinos, Lock Lane
  10. Ethan Havard - Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Pats
  11. Sam Walters - Widnes Vikings, Halton Farnworth Hornets
  12. Owen Trout - Leeds Rhinos, Stanley Rangers
  13. Morgan Smithies - Wigan Warriors, Siddal
  14. Muizz Mustapha - Leeds Rhinos, Hunslet Warriors
  15. Loui McConnell - Leeds Rhinos, Oulton Raiders
  16. Tom Holroyd - Leeds Rhinos, Siddal
  17. Joe Shorrocks - Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Pats


Tickets are £5 for adults and FREE for juniors. Tickets can be bought HERE or on the gate.

The game will also be streamed exclusively LIVE on OUR LEAGUE.