25th October 2018, 13:54 | rl_cares

Three more legends named in Rugby League Hall of Fame

Three more legends named in Rugby League Hall of Fame

Claim your Our League exclusive ticket discount and be there when all three legends are inducted into the Hall of Fame

The identity of the three legends who will be inducted into the Rugby League Hall of Fame at a celebration dinner in Leeds next month has been confirmed.

Andy Gregory, Derek Turner and Johnny Whiteley MBE will be elevated to the sport’s most exclusive club at the Rugby League Hall of Fame and RLIF Golden Boot dinner at Elland Road, Leeds, on Wednesday November 7. 

All three are former Great Britain internationals who achieved considerable success at club and representative level: Andy was a multiple Challenge Cup winner with Widnes and Wigan; Derek was captain of the all-conquering Wakefield Trinity team of the 1960s; and Johnny led Hull FC to two Wembley finals, as well as enjoying Ashes-winning success as a player and coach.

Andy and Johnny will be joined by their families at the induction dinner, which will also be attended by current Hall of Fame member Neil Fox MBE, Billy Boston MBE, Lewis Jones, Garry Schofield OBE and Malcolm Reilly OBE, as well as family representatives of Jim Sullivan and Mick Sullivan. 

To qualify for membership of the Hall of Fame, a player must meet stringent criteria including a record of outstanding achievement at the very highest levels of the game; have a reputation that transcends the era in which he played; and made a contribution to the game that will last as long as rugby league is played.

Players are only considered for inclusion once they have been retired for 10 years; they must also have played at the highest level of Rugby League for a minimum of 10 years. 

The 2018 Golden Boot will also be awarded to the best male and female international players of 2018 at the event.

The Golden Boot is given to the player adjudged to be the best in the world in that year. Previous winners of this award include Kevin Sinfield MBE, Garry Schofield OBE, Ellery Hanley MBE, Johnathan Thurston and last year’s winner Cameron Smith.

We’ve secured an exclusive discount for Our League members that want to see the three legends inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Tickets are priced at £40 per person, but Our League Members get tickets for £35 per person, which includes a three-course meal.

You can find out how to claim your Our League discount on the Our League app & website.

VIP places are also available at £650 for a table of 10.

You can book by calling 0113 237 5033 or by emailing info@rlcares.org.uk.

Download the Our League app on Apple iOS and Android.