10th October 2017, 12:09 | community

Winners | Community Awards 2017

Winners | Community Awards 2017

Cramlington Rockets were named Club of the Year at the Rugby Football League Community Awards, which took place on at Old Trafford on Betfred Super League Grand Final Day.

The Awards were celebration of the outstanding work across all aspects of the Community Game - including everything from schools and Touch Rugby League, through to the Club game.

On receiving the award, delighted Chairman Jeff Ball said: "This means a lot to a lot of people back home.

"Rugby league is a fantastic product and we're so proud to be a part of it. There's a lot of amazing work taking place in the North East.

"There is a lot more to come. So keep your eye on us."

Coach of the Year was handed to Richard Knight after a stellar year with Underbank Rangers, meanwhile Rob Butland was named Volunteer of the Year thanks to his remarkable efforts in introducing Rugby League to every primary school in Cornwall.

Winners and nominees in full:

Club of the Year


Cramlington Rockets

Hindley ARLFC

Saddleworth Rangers

Winner: Cramlington Rockets

Volunteer of the Year


Kathryn Reed

Steve Abel

Rob Butland

Winner: Rob Butland

Childrens' Coach of the Year

Nominees: Craig Fisher

Matty Walker

Winner: Matty Walker

Coach of the Year


Ben Whincup

Richard Knight

Sean McHugh

Winner: Richard Knight

Match Official of the Year

Winner: Malcolm Holmes

Young Match Official of the Year

Winner: Liam Rush

Groundsperson of the Year


Terry Turner & Dennis Phillips

George Taylor

Winner: Terry Turner & Dennis Phillips

Sky Try Award


James Stephenson

Tommy Gallagher

Steve Leonard

Winner: James Stephenson

Play Touch Rugby League Licensee of the Year


Darren Fisher

Tim Rumford

Lee Mitchell

Winner: Darren Fisher

Teacher of the Year

Winner: Kat Turner

School of the Year

Winner: Castleford Academy

Boys' School Team of the Year

Winner: Mirfield Free Grammar Year 9 Boys

Girls' School Team of the Year

Winner: St John Fisher Year 11 Girls

Outstanding Contribution to Schools Rugby League

Awarded to:Ryan Lloyd

Rugby Football League Order of Merit

Awarded to: David Lowe, Jack Strother, John Holdsworth, Jimmy Fallon

Services to Rugby League

Awarded to: Rob Ashton, Chris Wilson

Trojan Workwear Community Try of the Year:

Patryk Mazur - Woolston Rovers