Rugby League

England RL

28 Nov 2023

Two England Stars Remain in Golden Boot Shortlist

Two England Stars Remain in Golden Boot Shortlist

Two England stars remain in contention to receive the 2023 IRL Golden Boot Award.

Men’s half-back, Harry Smith, is one of four players remaining in the Men’s category, meanwhile, Lewis King has made the two-player shortlist in the Wheelchair version.

Smith played all three tests during England’s historic series against Tonga. The Wigan half-back received Nan Halafihi Medal which was awarded to the Player of the Series award. Alongside Smith, New Zealand’s James Fisher-Harris and Joseph Tapine have also been nominated as well as Australian forward, Payne Haas.

If Smith was to win the award, he would be the first since Tommy Makinson in 2018.

In the Wheelchair category, Lewis King and France’s Jeremy Bourson are the two players who could receive the award.

King featured in both games against France, including scoring a hat-trick in the defeat at the First Direct Arena at the beginning of the month.

England’s Jack Brown and Seb Bechara are the two previous recipients of the award.

The Golden Boot is awarded to the best player in sanctioned rugby league international matches each year.

The winners of the 2023 IRL Golden Boot Awards will be announced in early December.