19th November 2020, 13:43 | super_league

Wigan and Hull battle for Grand Final spot

Wigan and Hull battle for Grand Final spot

Live on Sky Sports Mix from 7:45pm!

The first spot in the 2020 Betfred Super League Grand Final is up for grabs on Thursday evening as Wigan Warriors host Hull FC, live on Sky Sports Mix from 7:45pm.

Wigan lifted the League Leaders’ Shield a fortnight ago following a 19-6 victory over Huddersfield Giants and are looking to go one step closer to claiming another piece of silverware.

The Warriors have featured in ten Betfred Super League Grand Finals, including the first back in 1998 which saw them beat Leeds 10-4. A victory over Hull FC on Thursday would see them equal the record for the most Betfred Super League Grand Final appearances, tied with St Helens on 11. However, St Helens could then surpass this once more on Friday evening.

As for Hull FC, they have progressed to the Betfred Super League Grand Final once back in 2006. Their 2006 route to the final saw them overcome Bradford Bulls in a memorable Elimination Final, a feat they will need to repeat against Wigan if they are to feature in this year’s showcase event at their home of the KCOM Stadium.

The sides have become familiar foes in recent seasons meeting on 16 occasions since the beginning of the 2016 season. Wigan have enjoyed more success throughout these meetings totalling nine wins, including seven of the last eight between the sides.

In 2016, Wigan earned a 28-18 victory over the Airlie Birds at the DW Stadium to book their place in the Betfred Super League Grand Final. However, FC did beat the Warriors in knockout Rugby League with an 18-14 win at Wembley Stadium in the Coral Challenge Cup Final a year later.

Hull FC booked their place in the final four of this year’s Betfred Super League with a hard-fought defeat of Warrington Wolves – who finished the regular season in 3rd spot – last week at the Halliwell Jones Stadium while Wigan moved straight into the Semi-Finals as reward for topping the table.

Following confirmation he will retire at the end of the season, Wigan Captain Sean O’Loughlin returns to the Warriors’ squad this week. Youngster Amir Bourouh also comes into the squad.

Hull FC Head Coach Andy Last has made one change to his 21-player squad with Jack Brown replacing Josh Jones. Jamie Shaul, Adam Swift and Gareth Ellis remain sidelined for the Black and Whites. 

Wigan: Zak Hardaker, Chris Hankinson, Oliver Gildart, Joe Burgess, Bevan French, Tommy Leuluai, Tony Clubb, George Burgess, Willie Isa, Liam Farrell, Sean O’Loughlin, Ben Flower, Morgan Smithies, Oliver Partington, Joe Bullock, Liam Byrne, Jake Bibby, Harry Smith, Jackson Hastings, Amir Bourouh, Brad Singleton. 

Hull FC: Bureta Faraimo, Carlos Tuimavave, Josh Griffin, Jake Connor, Marc Sneyd, Scott Taylor, Danny Houghton, Chris Satae, Manu Ma’u, Ligi Sao, Joe Cator, Jordan Johnstone, Brad Fash, Jordan Lane, Josh Bowden, Andre Savelio, Mahe Fonua, Jack Brown, Cameron Scott, Ratu Naulago, Ben McNamara.