17th December 2018, 13:53 | university

University Rugby League Origin Train On Squads Announced

University Rugby League Origin Train On Squads Announced

The train-on squads for the University Rugby League Origin game have been announced, with 30 of the leading players in the north and south respectively now in the hunt for a place in the final 22-man squad for the annual Origin game.

The game takes place on Saturdaym February 9, 2.30pm Kick Off at Loughborough University, and sees the North looking to retain their title against the South in what is always a hotly-contested fixture. 

"We're delighted to be returning to Loughborough University for this important fixture in the England pathway" said RFL Higher Education Manager, Adam Hughes.

"The quality of the regional games further emphasised the quality of Rugby League which is being played each Wednesday in the University game and the Origin game is bound to be another good example of that quality."

31 Universities and Colleges are represented across the two squads, showing the breadth of talent across the University game and, having battled through the round of Regional Games in early December, the Origin game gives players their final chance to stake a claim to be in the England Universities squad for 2019.

The 30 man squads for both sides are as follows:


  • Jacob Sharp (Durham / North East)
  • Alex Bielby  (Northumbria / North East)
  • Sean Croston  (Northumbria / North East)
  • Charlie Fothergill  (Northumbria / North East)
  • Rory Nettleton  (Northumbria / North East)
  • Jack Quinn  (Northumbria / North East)
  • Craig Banks  (Sunderland / North East)
  • Charlie Frost  (York St John / North East)
  • Lewis Fairhurst  (Edge Hill / North West)
  • Nathan Taylor  (Edge Hill / North West)
  • Alex Eckley  (Liverpool John Moores / North West)
  • James McDaid  (Liverpool John Moores / North West)
  • Alexander Smith  (Liverpool John Moores / North West)
  • Andrew Joy  (Manchester College / North West)
  • Conner MacCallum  (Manchester Metropolitan / North West)
  • Daniel Munt  (Salford / North West)
  • Jack Thompson  (UCLan / North West)
  • Ryan Langton  (Huddersfield / Yorkshire)
  • Thomas Jubb  (Hull / Yorkshire)
  • William Jubb  (Hull / Yorkshire)
  • James McDaniel  (Hull / Yorkshire)
  • Kieran Smith  (Hull / Yorkshire)
  • Matthew Chrimes  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire)
  • Henry Davetanivalu  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire)
  • Callum Fletcher  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire)
  • Kingsley Okra-Overton  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire)
  • Lee Registe  (Leeds Beckett / Yorkshire)
  • Lewis Davey  (Leeds Trinity / Yorkshire)
  • Kai Fagan  (Sheffield Hallam / Yorkshire)
  • Ben Gray  (Sheffield Hallam / Yorkshire)


  • Alex Best  (Birmingham / Midlands)
  • Daniel Gover  (Coventry / Midlands)
  • Lewis Munyoro  (Coventry / Midlands)
  • Kieran Sherratt  (Coventry / Midlands)
  • John Sipawa  (Coventry / Midlands)
  • Jacob Jones  (Loughborough College / Midlands)
  • Joshua Boulger  (Loughborough / Midlands)
  • Robert Branton  (Loughborough / Midlands)
  • George Prewett  (Loughborough / Midlands)
  • Ciaran Dean  (Nottingham / Midlands)
  • Tobias Cornish  (Nottingham Trent / Midlands)
  • Joshua Spearing  (Bedfordshire / South East)
  • Thomas Davidson  (Cambridge / South East)
  • Joshua Bull  (Reading / South East)
  • Sam Jones  (Reading / South East)
  • Sam Bloomer  (St Mary’s / South East)
  • William Budd  (St Mary’s / South East)
  • Eric Sims  (St Mary’s / South East)
  • Sam Bragoli-Jones  (Bath / South West)
  • Caley Gray  (Bath / South West)
  • Michael Holden  (Cardiff Metropolitan / South West)
  • Jack Elliss  (Exeter / South West)
  • Chris Booth  (Gloucestershire / South West)
  • Errol Carter  (Gloucestershire / South West)
  • Brett Davies  (Gloucestershire / South West)
  • James Mason  (Gloucestershire / South West)
  • Callum Merrett  (Gloucestershire / South West)
  • Jack Daynes  (Hartpury College / South West)
  • Henry Beer  (UWE / South West)
  • Aedan Coleman  (UWE / South West)