6th October 2019, 19:30 | ncl

West Hull crowned NCL champions

West Hull crowned NCL champions

Matthew Plummer was the hero as West Hull claimed the National Conference Premier Division title with to a try in golden-point extra time on Saturday.

Plummer's try sealed an 18-14 win over Thatto Heath Crusaders after the Grand Final at Featherstone Rovers' LD Nutrition Stadium, finished at 14-all at the end of normal time.

Wests were headed for heartbreak but Sam Cator touched down six minutes from the end of normal time and Ryan Wilson kept his nerve to convert and level the scores.

Thatto Heath kicked off in extra-time, conceded a penalty in that set before Wilson, Jack Lazenby and Jack Watts shipped the ball to the left edge and Plummer went over at the corner to win the title.

Thatto led 4-0 early on through two penalties from Bobbie Goulding but West Hull grabbed the opening try when Jacob Moore crashed over.

Scott Spaven’s conversion made edged the blue and greens ahead, but Thatto full-back Ben Heyes scored a brilliant touchdown as the half-time hooter sounded after an audacious chip.

The Hull outfit equalised through a Wilson penalty 14 minutes into the second half, but the St Helens side went ahead for the third time 10 minutes later from a try by Jamie Tracey which Goulding converted.

Goulding missed with a drop goal attempt on 70 minutes and West Hull grabbed a lifeline when Spaven’s kick was taken by Watts, he offloaded to Moore and the second-rower found man of the match Cator who held off two defenders to touch down.

Meanwhile, Featherstone Lions will play in the NCL Premier Division next season after overcoming West Yorkshire rivals Stanningley in the Division 1 play-off final earlier in the day.