Rugby League

England Wheelchair

11 Jun 2024

First training session for new England Wheelchair RL squad

First training session for new England Wheelchair RL squad

England Wheelchair Rugby League’s new National Performance Squad enjoyed their first get-together at Medway Park in Gillingham on Sunday.  

Head Coach Tom Coyd MBE last month announced an expanded performance squad, including three uncapped players from Essex, Kent and Yorkshire in the shape of Mason Billington and Jason Owen of London Roosters, and Hull FC’s Tristan Norfolk. The trio had all impressed at the recent ‘Future of England’ event in York and linked up with fellow squad members for the first time last weekend.  

Also named among the 16-strong squad are the nine players who represented England in 2023, plus four – Jack Heggie, Martin Lane, Adam Rigby and Nathan Holmes – who have previously represented England in major tournaments.  

England Head Coach, Tom Coyd, said:

“The Wheelchair Super League season kicks off this weekend, so this was a very timely opportunity to welcome squad members old and new and begin building towards our autumn internationals. We’ll have further training sessions throughout the year, and I’ll continue to monitor the performances of all England-eligible players in their domestic competitions.”  


England Wheelchair Rugby League Performance Squad:

Seb Bechara MBE (Catalans Dragons), Mason Billington (London Roosters), Wayne Boardman (Halifax Panthers), Jack Brown (North Queensland Cowboys), Josh Butler, Nathan Collins (both Leeds Rhinos), Joe Coyd (London Roosters), Tom Halliwell OBE (Leeds Rhinos), Rob Hawkins (Halifax Panthers), Jack Heggie (Wigan Warriors), Nathan Holmes (Halifax Panthers), Lewis King (London Roosters), Martin Lane (Wigan Warriors), Tristan Norfolk (Hull FC), Jason Owen (London Roosters), Adam Rigby (Wigan Warriors).