Rugby League

England RL

19 Nov 2023

Six England Players Nominated for the 2023 IRL Golden Boot

Six England Players Nominated for the 2023 IRL Golden Boot

Six England players have been nominated for the 2023 IRL Golden Boot award. Harry Smith, Mikey Lewis, John Bateman and Matty Ashton have all received nominations in the men's category, meanwhile, Georgia Roche and Amy Hardcastle have received a nomination for the women's.

A panel comprising some of the most accomplished players in international rugby league will select the men’s and women’s 2023 IRL Golden Boot winners after nominations were finalised following the recent Pacific Championships and historic England-Tonga series. Golden Cap recipients Darren Lockyer (Australia), Adrian Morley (England), Ruben Wiki (New Zealand), James Graham (England) and Adam Blair (New Zealand), who are among just nine players to have played 50 internationals for their country, will choose the men’s IRL Golden Boot winner.

The women’s IRL Golden Boot winner will be decided by Australian Jillaroos great Karyn Murphy, former New Zealand dual code superstar Honey Hireme-Smiler and England 2017 World Cup prop turned rugby league commentator Danika Priim. The judges of the 2023 Wheelchair IRL Golden Boot include Malcolm Kielty (England) and Robert Fassolette (France), the two key figures in establishing the sport, along with another driving force in the game's development in Martin Coyd, and long serving administrator Niel Wood, who has been a member of the IRL's Wheelchair Rugby League advisory committee.     

IRL Chair Troy Grant said: “The IRL Golden Boot is one of the oldest and most highly regarded awards in rugby league, so it is fitting that some of the giants of the international game decide the winners.

“Having former players of such standing choose the men’s and women’s international player of the year adds to the prestige of the IRL Golden Boot and we thank them for their support of the award. "There could also be no-one better qualified to determine the winner of the Wheelchair Golden Boot than those who pioneered the sport and the IRL is grateful for their involvement."  

The IRL Golden Boot winner is awarded to the best player in sanctioned rugby league international matches each year.

The 2022 IRL Golden Boot winners were New Zealand’s Joey Manu and Raecene McGregor, and England Wheelchair star Sebastien Bechara.  

Short lists for the men’s, women’s and wheelchair 2023 IRL Golden Boot awards will be announced after the second wheelchair international between last year’s World Cup winners England and runners-up France in Carcassonne on November 25.

France triumphed 43-34 in Leeds on November 5 in the first encounter between the two nations since the epic World Cup final.

The winners of the 2023 IRL Golden Boot awards will be announced in early December.

IRL Chair Troy Grant said: “There has been more international rugby league played in recent months than any other period in recent memory outside of a World Cup year and players have again demonstrated their passion for representing their countries of birth or heritage.

“It is a sign of how competitive the game is at international level that the three World Cup champions – the Kangaroos, Jillaroos and England Wheelchair – were all recently beaten in gripping contests that showcased rugby league at its best.”



Matty Ashton (England) John Bateman (England) Jahream Bula (Fiji) Su’a Faalogo (Samoa) James Fisher-Harris (New Zealand) Addin Fonua-Blake (Tonga) Harry Grant (Australia) Payne Haas (Australia) Jahrome Hughes (New Zealand) Edwin Ipape (Papua New Guinea) Tui Kamikamica (Fiji) Lachlan Lam (Papua New Guinea) Mikey Lewis (England) Esan Marsters (Cook Islands) Ronaldo Mulitalo (New Zealand) Cameron Murray (Australia) Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad (New Zealand) Harry Smith (England) Hamiso Tabuia-Fidow (Australia) Joey Tapine (New Zealand)

WOMEN’S Elisa Akpa (France) Toru Arakua (Cook Islands) Lauréane Biville (France) Belinda Gwasamun (Papua New Guinea) Georgia Hale (New Zealand) Amy Hardcastle (England) Mele Hufanga (New Zealand) Raecene McGregor (New Zealand) Apii Nicholls (New Zealand) Annetta-Claudia Nu'uausala(Samoa) Tiana Penitani (Tonga) Georgia Roche (England) Jess Sergis (Australia) Tamika Upton (Australia)

Previous IRL Golden Boot Winners


1984 Wally Lewis (Australia) 1985 Brett Kenny (Australia) 1986 Garry Jack (Australia) 1971 Hugh McGahan (New Zealand) and Peter Sterling (Australia) 1988 Ellery Hanley (England) 1989 Mal Meninga (Australia) 1992 Garry Schofield (England) 1991-98 No award given 1999 Andrew Johns (Australia) 2000 Brad Fittler (Australia) 2001 Andrew Johns (Australia) 2002 Stacey Jones (New Zealand) 2003 Darren Lockyer (Australia) 2004 Andrew Farrell (England) 2005 Anthony Minichiello (Australia) 2006 Darren Lockyer (Australia) 2007 Cameron Smith (Australia) 2008 Billy Slater (Australia) 2009 Greg Inglis (Australia) 2010 Benji Marshall (New Zealand) 2011 Johnathan Thurston (Australia) 2012 Kevin Sinfield (England) 2013 Johnathan Thurston (Australia) 2014 Shaun Johnson (New Zealand) 2015 Johnathan Thurston (Australia) 2016 Cooper Cronk (Australia) 2017 Cameron Smith (Australia) 2018 Tommy Makinson (England) 2019 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (New Zealand) 2020 No award given 2021 No award given 2022 Joey Manu (New Zealand)


2018 Isabelle Kelly (Australia) 2019 Jess Sergis (Australia) 2020 No award given 2021 No award given 2022 Raecene McGregor (New Zealand)


2019 Jack Brown (England) 2020 No award given 2021 No award given 2022 Sebastien Bechara (England)