Hall of Fame


The Rugby League Hall of Fame was established in 1988 to commemorate the greatest ever players in British rugby league. Players must have been retired for at least five years to be eligible; they must also have played at least ten years within the British game. Initially nine players were inducted when the Hall of Fame was opened; one more was announced in 1989.

In 1995 the members of the hall of fame appeared on postage stamps released as part of Britain's centenary celebrations.

There were no new inductees until 2000, when three more players were introduced as part of the build up to the 2000 Rugby League World Cup. A further four players were added in 2005 and 2013.

The most recent additions were inducted in 2018.  


Year Name Position Clubs
2018 Andrew Gregory Scrum half Widnes, Warrington, Wigan, Leeds, Salford
Derek Turner Loose Forward Hull KR, Oldham, Wakefield Trinity
Johnny Whiteley MBE Loose Forward Hull FC, Hull KR
2015 Albert Goldthorpe Fullback, Stand off Hunslet
Shaun Edwards Scrum half, Stand off Wigan, Balmain, London Broncos, Bradford
2014 Mal Reilly Loose Forward Castleford, Manly-Warringah
Willie Horne Stand off Oldham, Barrow
2013 Mick Sullivan Wing Huddersfield, Wigan, St Helens, York, Dewsbury
Garry Schofield Centre, Stand off Hull, Leeds, Balmain, Western Suburbs, Doncaster, Huddersfield, Bramley
Martin Offiah Wing Widnes, Wigan, Eastern Suburbs, St George Dragons, London Broncos, Salford City Reds
Lewis Jones Stand off Leeds
2005 Martin Hodgson Second row Swinton
Ellery Hanley Loose Forward Bradford Northern, Wigan, Leeds, Balmain, Western Suburbs
Douglas Clark Loose Forward Huddersfield
Eric Ashton Centre Wigan
2000 Tom van Vollenhoven Wing St Helens
Roger Millward Stand-off Castleford, Hull KR
Vince Karalius Loose Forward St Helens, Widnes
1989 Neil Fox Centre Wakefield, Bradford Northern, Hull KR, York, Huddersfield
1988 Harold Wagstaff Centre Huddersfield
Jim Sullivan Fullback Wigan
Albert Rosenfeld Wing Huddersfield, Wakefield Trinity, Bradford Northern, Easts
Gus Risman Centre Salford, Workington Town
Jonty Parkin Scrum-half Wakefield Trinity, Hull KR
Alex Murphy Scrum-half St Helens, Leigh, Warrington
Billy Boston Wing Wigan, Blackpool Borough
Brian Bevan Wing Warrington
Billy Batten Centre Hull