24th September 2019, 13:21 | wheelchair

England Wheelchair Rugby League set for Home Nations showdown

England Wheelchair Rugby League set for Home Nations showdown

England, Scotland and Wales set to battle it out

Following the drama of Saturday’s 2019 Wheelchair Rugby League grand finals, the focus this weekend switches to the international game and the Home Nations Championship. 

Halifax defeated Leeds Rhinos at Medway Park in a thrilling finale to the domestic season, and the two sides between them provide six of the England squad that will compete in Wrexham on Saturday and Sunday (28 and 29 September). 

England take on Wales and Scotland on Saturday, hoping for a place in Sunday’s final of the three-side, round-robin tournament.

Saturday 28 September

12noon – Opening ceremony

1.15pm – Wales versus Scotland 

3pm – England v Wales

4.45pm – Scotland v England 

Sunday 29 September 

11am – Third place versus Leyland Warriors (invitational team)

1pm – Wheelchair RL taster session

2.30pm – Home Nations Final

4.15pm – Presentation ceremony

Scotland and Wales provide England’s first opposition since the summer’s two-test series in France, which finished all square after England inflicted on their host’s a first ever defeat on French soil. 

Martin Coyd OBE, the chair of England Wheelchair Rugby League, said: “We made some good progress playing France in June, learning a lot about our group, and can take a lot of confidence going into the weekend. The tournament marks another important landmark for Wheelchair Rugby League and a vital part of our preparation for October’s Ashes tour of Australia. 

“The more international competition our players can experience between now and hosting the World Cup in 2021, the better-prepared we will be for what will be a ‘once in a lifetime’ opportunity for the players and the game in this country.

“And with the Aussies due to come to England in 2020, we will continue to build on our growing reputation and profile as an exciting version of rugby league ahead of the World Cup.”

The squads for the Home Nations tournament are as follows.  

England: Jodie Boyd-Ward (Leeds Rhinos); Josh Butler (Leeds Rhinos); Nathan Collins (Leeds Rhinos); James Hazel (Argonauts); Tom Halliwell (Leeds Rhinos); Rob Hawkins (Halifax); Lewis King (Argonauts); Nathan Mulhall (Halifax); Fred Nye (Argonauts); James Simpson (Leeds Rhinos).

Scotland: Dave Anderson; Jay Anderson; David Birtles; Gavin Dobson; Daniel Grant; Midge Hartley;

Michael Mellon; Scotty Trigg-Turner; Callum Young.

Wales: Alan Caron; Richard Carver; Philip Davies; Stephen Halsey; Andrew Higgins; Harry Jones; Jason Owens; Lucie Roberts; Gary Taylor; Mark Williams; Stuart Williams.

Wheelchair Rugby League, primarily a disability sport, is part of the England Performance Unit (EPU) which is focused on success at RLWC2021 and beyond for England’s men’s, women’s and wheelchair teams.