Raiders  13:00  Eagles

Bulldogs  15:15  Rams

Centurions  17:30  Vikings

Crusaders  14:30  Whitehaven

Thunder  15:00  Cougars

Oldham  15:00  Bears

Town  15:00  Hunslet

29th October 2018, 13:42 | ncl

Hunslet Club Parkside receive another 'double' accolade

Hunslet Club Parkside receive another 'double' accolade

Hunslet Club Parkside's incredible season continued when they had not one but two players named as the Kingstone Press National Conference League Players of the Year 2018.

For the first time ever, the NCL Management Committee couldn't separate the two leading contenders and the Hunslet's captain Jamie Fields and livewire hooker, Jamie Bradley were both named for the NCL's top individual award.

Fields is a burly prop forward of the old school, but he still finished the club's leading try scorer with 13 tries whilst kicking 59 goals for 174 points whilst Bradley was named man of the match on six occasions including the Grand Final success over West Hull.

They had been a formidable duo and saw of the considerable challenge of Underbank's Daniel Hurst who had picked up no less than eight man of the matches, and Egremont's ever-present captain Kieran Glenn.

In a season where the Hunslet Club had set a never to be beaten record of 24 straight victories, including the play off semi Final and Grand Final, as well as an unblemished 22 League games, it was not real surprise that the eventual outstanding players of the campaign came from that club.

The First Division player of the Year, was Danny Ratcliffe from Champions' Thornhill Trojans, who had played a leading role in the club's promotion success this season that had seen them goon a 17 match unbeaten run, following an opening day defeat.

Leigh Miners' Jack Reynolds and Lock Lane's Craig Savage who amassed ten man of the match award, had both been nominated, but it was Ratcliffe who got the nod.

In Division Two it was Champions' Stanningley’s 220-point Liam Copland that picked up the top award just ahead of nominees Hayden James of Crosfields who had been named man of the match on no less than 11 occasions during the club's unfruitful bid for promotion.

The side that ended Crosfields' dream to claim the third promotion spot, Saddleworth Rangers had nine time man of the match, Gareth Morgan also nominated.

Blaine Marwood of promoted Barrow Island was named the third division Player of the Year. The 20 year old half back had also scored 28 tries and just edged out Lewis Poskitt of Beverley who also had 28 tries, and Ethan Kelly of Millom.

The Coach of the Year Awards went with the division coaches, with Hunslet Club Parkside trio of Paul McShane, Martin Rowse and Sam Thorpe picking up the Premier Division accolade.

In Division One it was Thornhill's James Ratcliffe who got the top Coaching honour, whilst in Division two, Stanningley’s Ash Goulding and Jordan Lilley from Leeds Rhinos got the Coach of the Year Award. In Division three Hull FC’s Scott Taylor was Coach of the Year for his work at Beverley.

Top try scorers with 28 were Marwood and Poskitt, whilst the top points scorer with 240 was Oldham St. Anne’s Matt Whitehead.

Wakefield’s Keven Moore, who had officiated at the NCL Grand Final was named Referee of the Year, ahead of Wigan referee Aaron Moore and Widnes’s Alan Billington.

The Secrteary of the Year was won by Normanton’s Katrina Daw for her outsttanding work, whilst the Fair Play Award for the least disciplinary points was Drighlington, who had only two sin-binnings all campaign. Skirlaugh got the Programme of the year, whilst the Media Club of the Year for all the work they do in promoting their club, their games and the NCL, were Thornhill Trojans.