21st February 2020, 17:15 | womens_super_league

Wigan name squad for 2020 Betfred Women's Super League

Wigan name squad for 2020 Betfred Women's Super League

Wigan Warriors have named a 27-player squad ahead of the 2020 Betfred Women’s Super League. 

The 2018 Women’s Super League Champions will kick-off their 2020 campaign on March 29 against newly-promoted Warrington Wolves. 

Wigan’s squad – led by newly-named captain and England international Rachel Thompson – includes new signings Paige Costello, who has joined from Bradford Bulls, and Emily Stirzaker who is set to make the move up from Championship side Barrow Raiders.

The Warriors also welcome six new first teamers in Mia Dobson, Clare Radford, Danielle Molyneux, Jen Pickersgill, Beth Hayes, Lauren Gillham and Leah Porter. 

Wigan Warriors Head Coach, Kris Ratcliffe, said: “When the side was established two seasons ago it was about getting a team on the field and being as competitive as possible, and expectations were surpassed massively as Wigan lifted the title in their first season. 

“Last year, it became apparent that we needed to evolve in order to reach those levels of success again, meaning change, a degree of rebuilding and embedding of stronger foundations were imperative. 

“I’m really pleased with how that growth and development has gone since the middle of last year. We have a new look side with the potential to develop over the coming seasons – six of the girls are in the new DISE programme amongst the most talented 18-year olds in the game.”

Wigan’s campaign begins at Warrington before a trip to Featherstone Rovers and three consecutive home fixtures throughout May. The Warriors play their first warm-up fixture this weekend against the UK Armed Forces at Hindley.

Ratcliffe said: “Pre-season has been tough so far, we needed to be fitter as a team and the girls have really bought into that and worked hard. There is a real happy feel about the camp at the minute and we are looking forward to our first friendly game of the year against UKAF this Sunday at 12pm.”

The squad - in full - is as follows:

Rebecca Greenfield, Leah Derbyshire, Rachel Thompson ©, Georgia Wilson, Megan Grace-Holding, Emily Stirzaker, Alison Burrows, Holly Speakman, Carys Marsh, Jade Gregory-Haselden, Hayley Martinus, Paige Costello, Victoria Molyneux, Emily Baggaley, Emma Dwyer, Lucy Baggaley, Eleanor Dainty, Megan Bragg, Natalie Watson, Katie Stephens, Mia Dobson, Clare Radford, Danielle Molyneux, Jennifer Pickersgill, Beth Hayes, Lauren Gillham, Leah Porter. 

For a full 2020 Betfred Women’s Super League schedule, click here