19th November 2020, 21:52 | super_league

Wigan Warriors heading to Betfred Super League Grand Final

Wigan Warriors heading to Betfred Super League Grand Final

Wigan Warriors 29-2 Hull FC

Wigan Warriors booked their place in the 2020 Betfred Super League Grand Final with a dominant 29-2 victory over Hull FC at the DW Stadium.

Despite an early penalty goal from Marc Sneyd, Wigan controlled the Semi-Final and tries from Joe Burgess, Harry Smith, Zak Hardaker, Jake Bibby and Bevan French means they will feature in the showpiece event at the KCOM Stadium next Friday. 

The Warriors will face the winner of tomorrow’s Semi-Final between St Helens and Catalans Dragons. 

Hull FC notched the first points of the Semi-Final as they chose to kick for goal after being awarded a penalty 12 minutes in. Sneyd duly converted to give the visitors an early 0-2 lead. 

It would take 26 minutes before we saw the first try of the game, but some neat hands to the left-hand side – including a fantastic pass from Oliver Gildart – saw Burgess score in the corner and give Wigan the lead.

Adrian Lam’s side would find more success on the left-hand flank six minutes later as Hastings threw the ball wide to Burgess who put a deft kick forward with young halfback Harry Smith quickest to the ball. 

The Warriors would take an 11-point lead into the break as Smith added a drop-goal with the final play of the first half.

Wigan picked up where they left off in the first half as Hardaker sliced through the Hull FC line on the back of a smart inside ball by Bevan French and raced 30 metres to finish. 

The hosts confirmed their place in the 2020 Betfred Super League Grand Final when a looping French pass found Bibby out wide to score with seven minutes remaining.

French would turn scorer as the clock ticked towards full-time. Oliver Gildart picked up a loose ball and went through the defensive line and found an onrushing French in support to ensure Wigan head to the showpiece event in style.


Wigan Warriors: French, Bibby, Hardaker, Gildart, Burgess; Leuluai, Smith; Bullock, Hastings, Singleton, Isa, Farrell, Partington.

Interchanges: Clubb, Flower, O’Loughlin, Smithies.

Hull FC: Connor, Naulago, Fonua, Griffin, Faraimo; Tuimavave, Sneyd; Taylor, Johnstone, Bowden, Ma’u, Savelio, Cator.

Interchanges: Houghton, Fash, Sao, Satae.


Wigan Tries: Burgess, Smith, Hardaker, Bibby, French

Wigan Goals: Hardaker 4/5

Wigan Drop-Goals: Smith

Hull Tries: N/A

Hull Goals: Sneyd


Referee: Chris Kendall