12th November 2020, 15:22 | super_league

Preview | Warrington Wolves v Hull FC

Preview | Warrington Wolves v Hull FC

Betfred Super League Play-Offs get underway

The 2020 Betfred Super League Play-Offs get underway this evening as Warrington Wolves host Hull FC at the Halliwell Jones Stadium, 7:45pm kick-off, live on Sky Sports Arena and Mix.

Under the revised play-off structure for the current season, the fixture will be a straight knockout fixture with the loser’s season coming to an end while the winner will move on to Week Two of the Play-Offs.

A Warrington victory would see the Wolves set-up a clash with current Betfred Super League holders St Helens on November 20th while a Hull FC win would see the Black and Whites travel to League Leaders’ Shield winners Wigan Warriors on November 19th.

Both sides have experienced varying success in the Betfred Super League Play-Offs over the years with Hull FC progressing to the Grand Final in 2006 while Warrington have appeared in the Grand Final in 2012, 2013, 2016 and 2018 but both sides are yet to lift the trophy.

The edge in the fixture sits with Warrington who have won both meetings between the sides in 2020, scoring a total of 75 points. The Wolves have won six of the last seven outings with Hull FC, bit their only defeat did come at the Halliwell Jones Stadium back in 2019.

Hull FC enjoyed an impressive run to end the regular season winning three consecutive Betfred Super League fixtures against Huddersfield Giants, Castleford Tigers and Hull Kingston Rovers, respectively. Similarly, Warrington ended their regular season with a run of three consecutive wins against Leeds Rhinos, Salford Red Devils and Huddersfield.

Matty Ashton, Eribe Doro and Jake Mamo all return to the Warrington squad after missing the last outing against Huddersfield. However, Steve Price is without Tom Lineham and Sitaleki Akauola who are both serving suspensions.

Andy Last has made just one change to his Hull FC squad for this week’s fixture with Josh Griffin replacing Jack Brown. 


Warrington Wolves: Matty Ashton, Blake Austin, Josh Charnley, Daryl Clark, Jason Clark, Ben Currie, Matt Davis, Eribe Doro, Anthony Gelling, Chris Hill, Jack Hughes, Toby King, Jake Mamo, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Declan Patton, Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford, Ellis Robosn, Josh Thewlis, Danny Walker, Gareth Widdop.

Hull FC: Bureta Faraimo, Carlos Tuimavave, Josh Griffin, Jake Connor, Marc Sneyd, Scott Taylor, Danny Houghton, Chris Satae, Josh Jones, Manu Ma’u, Ligi Sao, Joe Cator, Jordan Johnstone, Brad Fash, Jordan Lane, Josh Bowden, Andre Savelio, Mahe Fonua, Cameron Scott, Ratu Naulago, Ben McNamara.