16th January 2020, 13:14 | rlwc2021

Draws for RLWC2021 complete

Draws for RLWC2021 complete

England's group stage opponents confirmed

The draws for the Men’s, Women’s and Wheelchair tournaments at the 2021 Rugby League World Cup were completed earlier by HRH, The Duke of Sussex, Dame Katherine Grainger DBE and Jason Robinson OBE at Buckingham Palace. 

England Men will begin RLWC2021 at St James’ Park, Newcastle, on 23 October against Samoa. There other opponents in Group A are France and Rugby League World Cup debutants Greece.  

The Women’s team will kick their tournament off against debutants in the form of Brazil at Emerald Headingley Stadium – home of Leeds Rhinos – on 9 November. Craig Richards’ side will also face Papua New Guinea and Canada in Group A.

As for the Wheelchair side, they will begin their RLWC2021 campaign against Australia – who they recently defeated in an Ashes Series Down Under – at the Copper Box Arena, London, on 11 November. England will also face Spain and Norway in Group A.

The Wheelchair final is set to take place and M&S Bank Arena on the evening of 26 November with a double-header of finals following at Old Trafford on 27 November with the Women’s and Men’s finals being hosted at the Theatre of Dreams. 

The groups for Rugby League World Cup 2021 are as follows:



Group A – England (Hosts), Samoa, France, Greece.

Group B – Australia (Holders), Fiji, Scotland, Italy.

Group C – New Zealand, Lebanon, Jamaica, Ireland.

Group D – Tonga, Papua New Guinea, Wales, Cook Islands.



Group A – England, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Brazil.

Group B – Australia, New Zealand, France, Cook Islands.



Group A – England, Australia, Spain, Norway.

Group B – France, Wales, Scotland, USA.