30th August 2019, 10:41 | englandrl

Our League to broadcast Youth International

Our League to broadcast Youth International

England Youth to travel to Wales on Saturday morning

England Youth are all set to take on Wales at Stebonheath Park in Llanelli this Saturday (31 August) – and rugby league fans can catch all the action live on Our League from 11.30am.

England will select from an 18-strong squad drawn from as many as nine different academies, demonstrating the tremendous depth of talent at this level. 

Leeds Rhinos and Wigan Warriors between them supply eight players, though the squad itself is almost completely different to the one which recently defeated France in Hull and Wakefield – another measure of England’s strength in depth. Only the Rhinos’ Coby Nichol, who did not feature in either of the French tests, is retained for the trip to the home of West Wales Raiders. 

Stebonheath Park is familiar terrain for several of Wales coach Lee Crooks’ charges. Last month the legendary former Great Britain forward named a 20-strong ‘first team’, plus a further 15 players ready to step up in cases of injuries.   

England Youth team offers a well-established pathway to the elite level, via the England Academy system. Both are incorporated within the RFL’s England Performance Unit (EPU) which aims to develop more world-class England players for all senior squads by 2021.  

Head coach Danny Wilson is supported by, among others, the former Great Britain international and Man of Steel Paul Sculthorpe, whose role as England Pathways Coach focuses on the development of country’s outstanding young players. 

The full England squad (including academy side, school and community club details) is as follows.

Jake Anderson (Newcastle Thunder/Lord Lawson of Beamish/Gateshead Storm)

Cole Appleby (St Helens/St Ambrose Barlow/Folly Lane)

Luca Atkinson (Leeds Rhinos/Thornton Beckfoot Academy/West Bowling)

Harvey Barron (City of Hull/Beverley Grammar/Beverley Braves)

Jonathan Bennison (Widnes Vikings/The Heath School/Thatto Heath)

Lewis Camden (Bradford Bulls/Buttershaw/West Bowling)

Joe Charnock (Wigan Warriors/St Peters Catholic High/Orrell St James)

George Collins (Huddersfield Giants/Netherhall/Emley Moor)

Bailey Dawson (City of Hull/Malet Lambert/Skirlaugh)

Oliver Field (Leeds Rhinos/Tadcaster Grammar/Wetherby Bulldogs)

Max Hindle (Huddersfield Giants/Shelley College/Emley Moor Rangers)

Sam Little (Leeds Rhinos/Tadcaster Grammar/Wetherby)

Daniel Moss (St Helens/Sutton Academy/Blackbrook)

Coby Nichol (Leeds Rhinos/Brooksbank/Siddal)

Tom Nicholson-Watton (Leeds Rhinos/Guiseley/Stanningley)

Patrick O'Donavan (Wakefield Trinity/Garforth Academy/Lock Lane)

Kavan Rothwell (Wigan Warriors/St Edmund Arrowsmith RC/Newton Storm)

Jack Taylor (Wigan Warriors/Golborne HS/Latchford Giants)

Sign-up to Our League to watch the game LIVE!