17th October 2018, 10:25 | englandrl

England side to face France

England side to face France

England head coach Wayne Bennett has named his side to face France at Leigh Sports Village on Wednesday, kick-off 7.45pm.

Eight players are set to make their debut; Jamie Shaul, Tom Johnstone, Reece Lyne, and Oliver Holmes will start, while Adam Milner, Luke Thompson, Robbie Mulhern and Liam Sutcliffe will start as interchanges.

Johnstone has scored 24 tries for Wakefield Trinity in the Betfred Super League this season, and Lyne, the 25-year-old centre joined Wakefield from his hometown club Hull FC six-years-ago.

Thompson helped his side St Helens lift the League Leaders’ Shield this year, while Milner was in the Castleford Tigers team which reached the Super League semi-finals.

Five of the eight players set to make their debut have been called up from the England Knights squad, they will re-join the Knights squad after Wednesday night’s game, with the squad departing on Thursday for a three-week trip which includes two internationals against Papua New Guinea.

Jake Connor returns to the England squad after making a huge impact during the side’s fixture in Denver by scoring a try, while James Graham will make his 41st England appearance, his first came against France in 2008.

The game against France will be England’s first on home territory since they reached the final of last year’s World Cup, having since beaten New Zealand 36-18 in Denver.

England squad for the match against France: 

  1. James Shaul (Hull FC)
  2. Tom Johnstone (Wakefield Trinity
  3. Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity)
  4. Mark Percival (St Helens)
  5. Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants)
  6. Richie Myler (Leeds Rhinos)
  7. Jake Connor (Hull FC)
  8. James Graham (St. George Illawarra Dragons)
  9. Josh Hodgson (Canberra Raiders)
  10. Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  11. Oliver Holmes (Castleford Tigers)
  12. Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders)
  13. George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  14. Adam Milner (Castleford Tigers)
  15. Luke Thompson (St Helens)
  16. Robbie Mulhern (Hull KR)
  17. Liam Sutcliffe (Leeds Rhinos) 

France's 19-man squad: Bastien Ader, Lucas Albert, Jason Baitieri, William Barthau, Lambert Belmas, Ilias Bergal, Rhys Curran, Alrix Da Costa, Bastien Escamilla, Morgan Escare, Theo Fages, Tony Gigot, Mickael Goudemand, Benjamin Jullien, Paul Marcon, Thibault Margalet, Hakim Miloudi, Romain Navarrete, Justin Sangare. 

Tickets for the game against France are on sale now at rugby-league.com and are priced at £20 for Adults and £5 for Juniors. ‘Our League’ members can purchase tickets and save 50% on both Adult and Junior prices. Visit rugby-league.com/tickets for more details and to book.

You can watch England v France live on the Our League app & website for free on Wednesday 17th October, kick-off 7:45pm.

Download the Our League app on Apple iOS & Android.