Toulouse  17:00 UK  Eagles

Thunder  15:00  Skolars

Raiders RL  15:00  Bears

3rd May 2018, 16:08 | college_

Wakefield College cap off memorable year with Cup title

Wakefield College cap off memorable year with Cup title

Report: Furness College 16-34 Wakefield College

Wakefield College crowned a fine season in style as they overcame Furness College 34-16 at Barrow Raiders' Craven Park to claim the 2018 College Cup Final on Wednesday (May 2).

Wakefield came into the game a strong favourites having topped the Premier Division table but, backed by an enthusiastic home crowd, the Barrow side were on top early on.

They hit the front thanks to an early Jake Carter penalty goal.

Carter than cancelled out Jack Croft's try for Wakefield with a try of his own, converting, before Adam Ford stretched out to put Furness 12-4 up with ten minutes left of the first half.

But that score stirred Wakefield into action as they ran in three quickfire tries before the break.

Callum Hudson kicked off the revival out wide, before Harry Dodd and Nico Devittoris went in within minutes of eachother.

Connor Bailey kicked two goals from three attempts to help give his side a 20-12 interval lead.

The visitors were in the ascendancy and Hudson got his second soon after the restart, before Lewis Teale raced away to score, Bailey with the goal, to make it 30-12 going into the final quarter.

Iain Oakley then scored to all-but seal the title.

But the hard-working Furness side refused to back down and got the try their endeavour deserved on the hooter as Ford crashed in for his second of the evening.


Furness College: Jake Stockdale; Adam Ford (2T), Tyler Lancaster, Aidan Wright, Jonny Hutton; Jake Carter (1T, 1G, 1P), Brandon Corrie; Tyler Batty, Shane Sanderson, Ioan Hayes; Matty Brown, Charlie Emslie, Danny Wright. Subs: Ethan Bickerdike, Zak Steel, Cameron Hetherington, Elliot Campbell, Alfie Thomas.

Wakefield College: Owen Hughes; Nico Devittoris (1T), Jack Croft (1T), Harry van der Waal, Callum Hudson (2T); Connor Bailey (3G), Stephen Gibbs; Jordan Schofield, Lewis Teale (1T), Jacob Jones; Harry Dodd (1T), Nathan Newbound, Billy Westermen. Subs: Iain Oakley (1T), Robbie Powell, Moris Kamano, Yusuf Aydin.

Man of the Match: Owen Hughes

Attendance: 521