8th October 2017, 13:14 | womens_rugby_league

Bradford Bulls become first-ever Women's Super League champions

Bradford Bulls become first-ever Women's Super League champions

England star Lois Forsell led the way as Bradford made history.

Bradford Bulls made history by becoming the first-ever Women's Super League champions, beating Featherstone Rovers 36-6 on Saturday, October 7 at the Manchester Regional Arena.

In front of a vocal Bulls crowd, the 2017 Challenge Cup winners stormed into a two-score lead early on - captain Kirsty Moroney and star hooker Lois Forsell with the tries, Claire Garner on target with two conversions.

But the injury-ravaged Rovers side fought back, youngster Georgia Roche with an incredible individual effort, which she converted.

Though Charlotte Booth went on to score a late first-half effort, the young Rovers side were firmly in the contest at 16-6 going into the break.

Lois Forsell was named Player of the Match

Bradford Bulls Women - history-makers

But, led by Player of the Match Forsell, the Bulls raced clear in the second period, scoring 20 unanswered points to take the title.

Clair Garner kicked off the second-half scoring, before converting Amy Hardcastle's barnstoming effort to make it 26-6 with 25 minutes to play.

Despite a period of steely resistance, Rovers couldn't convert their effort into points, and it was Bradford's Charlene Henegan who strolled over late on, Garner goaling from out wide, before Haylie Hields rounded off the scoring on the final hooter.

HT: Bulls 16-6 Rovers
FT: Bulls 36-6 Rovers

Player of the Match: Lois Forsell (Bradford Bulls)

Bradford Bulls: Charlotte Booth; Charlene Henegan, Savannah Andrade, Amy Hardcastle, Lisa Taylor; Claire Garner, Kirsty Moroney; Lauren Hickey, Lois Forsell, Stacey Wilson; Shona Hoyle, Aimee Staveley; Beth Sutcliffe. Subs: Dani Suane, Debbie Smith, Stacey White, Haylie Hields, Jess Courtman, Jo Olleranshaw, Emma Hartley.

Featherstone Rovers: Kayleigh Bulman; Sarah Dunn, Rhianon Marshall, Kacy Haley, Manina Spurr; Andrea Dobson, Georgia Roche; Emma Slowe, Sinead Peach, Zoe Teece; Jas Hazzell, Jas Bell; Gracie Field. Subs: Erica Zane, Megan Price, Madison Laverik.