Hull  56-12  Hull KR  FT

Rhinos  38-18  Giants  FT

Wolves  12-36  Red Devils  FT

Warriors  10-36  Saints  FT

Vikings  30-12  Centurions  FT

Raiders  26-52  Wolfpack  FT

Halifax  26-33  Bulls  FT

Lions  36-22  Hornets  FT

Rovers  0-0  Knights

Eagles  18:00  Toulouse

Rams  19:00  Bulldogs

Crusaders  70-8   Raiders RL  FT

Bears  28-30  Skolars  FT

Cougars  26-18  Doncaster  FT

Oldham  28-36  Hunslet  FT

Town  18-33  Whitehaven  FT


16th October 2018, 13:06 | community

Community Awards round-up

Community Awards round-up

Orrell St James named 2018 community Club of the Year.

Orrell St James 2018 community Club of the Year

North West Men's League outfit Orrell St James have been named 2018 community Club of the Year at the 2018 Community Awards.

The Awards, held at Old Trafford ahead of the Betfred Super League Grand Final, saw all areas of the community game recognised for their efforts in 2018.

Orrell were rewarded on the back of another strong season in the North West Men's League Premier Division for their Open Age side, as well as another year of growth at junior level.

In a positive evening for the club, they also saw coach Sean McHugh named Coach of the Year.

Meanwhile the Childrens' Coach of the Year Award went to Shevington Sharks' Craig Fisher.

In the world of Touch Rugby League, the Featherstone Rovers Foundation were named Play Touch Rugby League Licensee of the Year, with Rovers' Neil Hutchinson taking home the Player of the Year Award.

In Education, St John Fisher's Lauren Cloke was named Teacher of the Year, as Brooksbank took the School of the Year gong.

Kettlethorpe School's David Towler also picked up an Outstanding Contribution to Schools Rugby League Award on the evening.

Meanwhile, Boys Team of the Year was St Peter's Year 11 Boys, and Corpus Christi Year 7 Girls took the Girls Team of the Year Award.

Elsewhere, Yarm Wolves' Phil Shaw was presented with the Sky Try Award and Groundsperson of the Year went to Kevin Thompson from Thatto Heath Crusaders.

Leeds Referees Society's Luke Bland was honoured for his efforts in 2018 with the Young Match Official of the Year Award, with Gvin Houston from the North East was named Match Official of the Year.

John Welch from Physical Disability Rugby League won the Volunteer of the Year Award, while Stuart Prior was honoured with the RFL Services to Rugby League Award.

Finally, three Order of Merit Awards were handed out - to Andy Lynch from Kippax, Wigan St Judes' Ken Owen and Sue Taylor of BARLA and the Pennine League.