10th September 2018, 11:58 | england_lions

England Community Lions Youth announce Home Nations squad

England Community Lions Youth announce Home Nations squad

Ahead of the Home Nations later this month, the England Community Lions Youth have announced the 20-man squad participating in the series.

The Home Nations Series will see England Community Lions U19s face Scotland and Wales U19s across two weekends in September and October 2018.

Whilst most players featured in the U19s European Championships 2018, Andrew Badrock and Ethan Jones will join up with the team for the Home Nations.

Head Coach, Allan Coleman said: "We're looking forward to our Home Nation Games.

"We didn't get the chance to play Scotland in the U19s European Championships, so this gives us an opportunity to play a big and tough Scotland side, who have been coached very well by Danny Addy.

"Wales will be a great side to face, they are a great playing side who will be looking to put things right after we defeated them in the semi-final.

"Both games will be tough challenges for us, so I am looking forward to the lads showing the talent they possess throughout each game. We are also looking at playing some younger players, alongside our more experienced ones, to keep the Lion pathway going."

The squad will travel to Edinburgh on Friday 28th September, ahead of their opening match against Scotland U19s. The U19 Lions face Scotland U19s on Saturday 29th September, with KO at 12pm.

They will then face Wales U19s on Friday 12th October, for the first time since beating them in the U19s European Championships 2018.

Kick off is scheduled for 8pm at the Manchester Regional Arena (Etihad Campus), with admission to the game being £3 for Adults and £1 for Concessions.

England Community Lions Youth Home Nations Extended Squad:

Liam Kenyon (Blackbrook); George Senior (Dewsbury Celtic); Jake Bradley (Hensingham); Brad Holroyd (Leigh East); Andrew Badrock, Calum Coleman, Louis Brogan, Ethan Jones (Leigh Miners Rangers); Ben Bradshaw (Myton); Callum Wood (Orrell St. James); Brandon Wood (Rochdale Mayfield); Elias Harrison (Skirlaugh); Ben Shelby (Stanningley); Sam Favell (Thatto Heath); Cameron Hetherington (Walney Central); Curtis Teare (Wath Brow); James Goulsbra-Miller (West Hull); Gary McMahon, Leon Harber (Wigan St. Jude’s); Ben Holmes (Wigan St. Pats).