7th November 2018, 14:00 | englandrl

Three England players shortlisted for RLIF Golden Boot Award

Three England players shortlisted for RLIF Golden Boot Award

England players Elliott Whitehead and Tommy Makinson have both been shortlisted for the Rugby League International Federation Golden Boot Award, with England women's rising star Georgia Roche in the final five for the first ever Women's Golden Boot Award,

Canberra Raiders forward Whitehead, who is set to win his 20th England cap in the Third Test match with New Zealand was hugely impressive in both the Denver Test and the first Test of this autumn's series against the Kiwis, winning the Our League Man of the Match on both occasions.

After winning his first England cap in the mid-season Test in America, St Helens' winger Makinson has continued to impress, culminating in a superb performance on Sunday in which a hat-trick and two huge tackles in the match saw England retain the Baskerville Shield at Anfield.

The England pair are part of a four-man shortlist which also features New Zealand full-back Dallin Watene-Zelezniak and Austalian full-back James Tedesco, with the winner being crowned tonight at the Hall of Fame & RLIF Golden Boot Dinner which will be held at Elland Road, Leeds.

Just a month after winning the first ever Woman of Steel award in Manchester, England womens star Georgia Roche could become the first ever RLIF Women's Golden Boot winner.

The 18-year-old, who plays for Castleford Tigers in the Women's Super League, scored two tries on her England debut against France in October. Roche has also been nominated for the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year Award.

The award recognises the most outstanding performances in both men’s and women’s international matches over the past 12 months and covers all fully sanctioned international games played from the final of RLWC2017 to the England v New Zealand game played last Sunday.

The Men’s Award will be selected from the short list of 4, which was narrowed down from a long list of 10, by the panel drawn from rugby league media in both the northern and southern hemisperes

  • Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (New Zealand)

  • Elliott Whitehead (England)

  • James Tedesco (Australia)

  • Tommy Makinson (England)


The first ever Women’s Golden Boot will go to one of five nominees:

  • Ali Brigginshaw (Australia)

  • Brittany Breayley (Australia)

  • Georgia Roche (England)

  • Honey Hireme (New Zealand)

  • Isabelle Kelly (Australia)