20th February 2017, 12:58 | university

Northumbria are national 9s champions!

Northumbria are national 9s champions!

By Alex Davis

Premier North champions Northumbria added the BUCS University Rugby League 9s title to their trophy cabinet with an impressive win over Leeds Beckett in the final.

The teams were split into two groups with Loughborough, Leeds Beckett and Newcastle in one - Northumbria, Hull, St Mary's and Nottingham Trent in the other.

The top two from each group would go through to the semi-finals.

The day started off with Beckett overcoming Loughborough by five and Northumbria beating St Marys by eight.

Hull then played back-to-back games in Pool 2, comfortably beating Nottingham Trent 17-4 but falling heavily to Northumbria, 22-6.

Leeds Beckett completed their group stage fixtures with a 22-15 win over Newcastle.

The last three games in Pool 2 were all closely-fought, with any one of the four teams having a chance of progressing through to the semi-finals.

St Mary's played out a draw with Nottingham Trent, who then went on to notch up a stunning 10-8 victory over Northumbria.

Hull's point in a draw with St Mary's meant they earned the second semi-final spot from Pool 2 behind Northumbria.

Loughborough also made it through from Pool A in second position with a 26-8 win over Newcastle.

With St Mary's forced to retire from the competition due to injuries, it was left to Newcastle and Nottingham Trent to play off for the Plate final, Newcastle prevailing 14-6.

The semi-finals pitted Leeds Beckett against Hull with Northumbria taking on Loughborough.

In a hard-fought contest, Northumbria edged past Loughborough 18-12 while Leeds Beckett ran in three tries against Hull in a 21-0 victory.

Loughborough went on to secure third place with a comfortable 25-4 win over Hull.

The final was dominated by Northumbria who looked quick in attack and sturdy in defence.

They opened the scoring game with a quick chip and chase, which led to the first try.

The pressure from Northumbria was relentless and they notched up a further two tries and kept their opponents scoreless throughout the 10 minute contest to clinch the title with a 16-0 victory.

/* Google Tag Manager noscript code begins here */