The North squad announced for #UniOriginRL 2017

26th January 2017, 10:00


The North squad announced for #UniOriginRL 2017


The final 20-man squad for The North has been confirmed for the second-ever #UniOriginRL match between The North and The South.

The North are made up of students from universities from the North West, Yorkshire and Cumbria and will be taking on The South squad, which is selected from students studying in the South West, Midlands and London.

Last year's Origin clash saw The North come out on top with an impressive 44-28 win, with former Super League player James Woodburn-Hall proving to be the star of the show as co-captain of The North.

Once again, Loughborough University will be hosting the match, with the game kicking off at 7pm on Saturday (January 28).

#UniOriginRL was watched by a bumper crowd last year

The North won 44-28 in February 2016

The stand-out players from the upcoming match will be in line for selection for the England Students squad which will play at July's Student World Cup in Sydney, Australia.

Participation in the squad is self-funded and each player and member of the volunteer coaching and management team is responsible for raising money for themselves to cover UK-based training and friendly games, kit and equipment, flights, accommodation, travel, insurance and tournament participation fees.

The whole squad will be working hard to fundraise the £110k needed for the trip through selling sponsorship, Community Game Raffle Tickets and staging events, but all donations will go a long way to reducing the cost of taking part in the tournament for the players.

Donate now at
2017 #UniOriginRL squad: The North

Aaron Hall - University of Bolton, North West

Carl Southan - Liverpool John Moore's, North West

Dom Bryan - MMU, North West

Jack Lazenby - University of Hull, Yorkshire

Jacob Morgan - Leeds Beckett, Yorkshire

Jake Reed - Leeds Beckett, Yorkshire

Jason Bass - Newcastle University, North East

Josh Hamilton - University of Hull, Yorkshire

Kieran Smith - Sheffield Hallam University, Yorkshire

Liam McAvoy - Northumbria University, North East

Liam Wood - UCLan, North West

Marcus Stock - University of Sheffield, Yorkshire

Mike Quickenden - University of Salford, North West

Nathan Hill - University of Hull, Yorkshire

Patrick Hargreaves - Northumbria University, North East

Reece Brunt - University of Leeds, Yorkshire

Sam Druce - Leeds Beckett, Yorkshire

Sam Luckey - Northumbria University, North East

Sam Swire - University of Sheffield, Yorkshire

Zack McComb - Leeds Backett, Yorkshire