20th April 2017, 16:08 | champion_schools

Champion Schools double-header all set for Featherstone

Champion Schools double-header all set for Featherstone

The Year 11 Boys and Year 11 Girls Finals will be hosted at Featherstone Rovers' LD Nutrition Stadium on Tuesday...

England Youth stars set to go head-to-head

Featherstone Rovers will host Brooksbank School's clash with Castleford Academy in the Year 11 Champion Schools final on Tuesday, 7pm kick off.

The two sides are old adversaries, having faced off a number of times in recent years, including a remarkable Year 10 final in London last year, where Ritchie Westwood's late drop goal was the difference in a 11-10 win for Cas.

The West Yorkshire rivals both boast England Youth players, with Cas halfback Westwood and Corey Johnson playing in England's recent series win over France, while Brooksbank's Morgan Smithies captained the side alongside fellow Brooksbank and Siddal team mates Amir Bourouh and Riley Dean.

National Girls champions to be crowned

The Year 11 Girls final will also take place on Tuesday, kicking off at 5.30pm, as St Peter's from Dewsbury take on Peterlee-based Shotton Hall.

St Peter's enjoyed a 46-12 win over Sirius Academy from Hull in the Year 10 Final last year, with full back Caitlin Beevers proving to be the star of the show, scoring four tries.

St Peter's claimed the Year 10 Girls title last season

Brooksbank were beaten finalists in the Year 10 Boys Final last year

Meanwhile, Shotton Hall are surprise national finalists this year, having beaten off competition from more favoured opponents to make it this far.

Entry to the double-header is £3 for adults and £1 for concessions, gates open at 4.30pm.

Full Details:


Tuesday, April 25, 2017


The LD Nutrition Stadium, Featherstone, WF7 5EN


Year 11 Girls Final

St Peter's v Shotton Hall

Kick off: 5.30pm

Year 11 Boys Final

Brooksbank v Castleford Academy

Kick off: 7pm


Adults - £3

Concessions - £1

/* Google Tag Manager noscript code begins here */