live action...

Toulouse  40-28    FT

Hornets  12-38  Lions  FT

Bulldogs  12-12  Rams

Stags  0-68  Bulls  FT

Crusaders  42-6  Bears  FT

Hunslet  86-0  

Whitehaven  26-18  Knights  FT

Town  38-18  Thunder  FT

Cougars  26-18  Skolars  FT

29th April 2014, 15:18 | 

Schools Origin Preview

Schools Origin Preview

Tomorrow sees another leap forward for Rugby League Ireland with the start of the Schools Origin Series between the Ulster Select XII and the Leinster Select XII.


In what is a first for the organisation the two sides will face off in a two match series with the winner being crowned 2014 Schools Origin Champions.


The Ulster squad which is coached by Ireland A International Wayne Kelly will be looking to make the most of home advantage in game one. They will be led out by Johnny Mooney on the day.


For Leinster they will be looking to get a win on the road before coming back home in two weeks’ time for the series decider. Leinster are coached by Conor Kelly and will be led out by powerful front rower Ryan Healy.


Both coaches have released their squads for the game which will hopefully be the start of the growth of schools rugby league in Ireland.


Ulster Select XIII Squad:


Phil Steele, James Milligan, Darryl Hand, Johnny Dunlop, Cameron Waddell, Ryan Duddy, Conor McNeill, Jake Gardner, Thomas McGookin, Mark Bishop, Ty Mackness, Tom Campbell, Johnny Mooney ©, Johnny Creighton, Alex Curry, Corey Kelly, Sam Dane, Mark Pyper, Ben Cullen, Adam Anderson


Leinster Select XIII Squad:


Aaron Doolan (St Mary’s Diocesan College Drogheda)

Adam Brodigan (St Joseph’s CBS Drogheda)

Adam Carberry (Gormanston College)

Cathal Downey (St Joseph’s CBS Drogheda)

Cathal Duffy (St Joseph’s CBS Drogheda)

Cian Harrington (Gormanston College)

Cillian McDonald (Gormanston College)

Conor Redmond (St Marys Diocesan College Drogheda)

Craig Black (Moyle Park College Clondalkin)

Darren Madden (Tallaght Community School)

Dylan Brady (Gormanston College)

Emmett Banahan (St Mary’s Diocesan College Drogheda)

Fionn McCarthy (St Mary’s Diocesan College Drogheda)

Freddie Tallon (Gormanston College)

Liam McMahon (St Joseph’s CBS Drogheda)

Luke Hasle O’Brien (St Mary’s Diocesan College Drogheda)

Nick Smith (St Mary’s Diocesan College Drogheda)

Paul Bolger (St Mac Dara’s Community College Templeogue)

Ross Berkery (St Josephs CBS Drogheda)

Ryan Healy (St Mary’s Diocesan College Drogheda) ©

Tom Burke (St Josephs CBS Drogheda)


Kick off tomorrow will be at 2pm in Belfast Metropolitan College on Montgomery Road in Belfast with the return fixture taking placeon Wednesday May 14th.